We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens any time of year”

The North Carolina Arboretum
Ranked #5 of 185 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nestled in the Southern Appalachian Mountains just south of Asheville, The North Carolina Arboretum offers acres of cultivated gardens and groomed trails featuring some of the most beautiful, botanically-diverse plants in the region.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
179 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens any time of year”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A beautiful place to go for a walk in the gardens any time of the year. The quilt garden is fun to look at and changes each year, there are often events and demos in the building and several woodland trails to walk with gardens all along the way.

Helpful?
Thank LuckyPenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    408
    107
    30
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens - Peaceful Trails”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Well layed out with attractive formal displays and a variety of hiking trails of varying lengths. Nothing too strenuous. We've done some picnic lunches and wines and cheese stops along the trails - always a lovely place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Delray2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a jewel in the NC mountains”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We started going to the Arboretum years ago and have become members because it is such a special place. You can hike and bike and see the gardens in all of the seasons plus check out the exhibits at the education center. We always recommend that visitors to Asheville be sure to see the Arboretum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bargriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved the gardens. We visited on a Monday and there were no staff around. We meandered through the gardens up the hill toward the visitor center. We appreciated the benches that overlooked the gardens and scenic mountain vistas. The cafe was closed on Mondays. When you enter make sure you keep the ticket the guard gives you because you will need it to exit the Arboretum. He didn't tell us that. He did say we could use the ticket to reenter the Arboretum that same day. We went elsewhere for lunch and came back to vist the art gallery/ gift shop. The hours said until 5 pm. We got there are 2:50 and the gift shop lady said she was closing in 6 minutes. She was pretty huffy and said she had to get home. We assumed something must have happened but then we wondered why she even bothered to stay open at all. I set about browsing at high speed. About 3 minutes later she said she was closing the gate and practically threw us and the others out. It was an unsettling experience and I can say from glancing at the items for sale that they were overpriced. You can find other craft items around Asheville for less. We hiked one of the trails along the creek but the trails were poorly marked and it would have been nice to have a bench once in a while.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank love2wander12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice day trip to do some hiking”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Not far from Asheville and pretty place to hike. Was out of season for many of the gardens, but the bonsai trees were neat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The North Carolina Arboretum also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
North Carolina Mountains, NC
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The North Carolina Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing