We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again...”
Review of Brookstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brookstone Lodge
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Cumming, ga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again...”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

First the good news - this hotel was clean. That's it...

Now the rest - The first room we were given had a running toilet. The second room we were given had a lousy A/C system. Unless I set it to run on the highest setting - it would shut off - so we froze over night rather than having it stuffy. The second issue in this room was the bathroom door. It wasn't hung correctly so it had a gap which you could see through with the door closed. I had to tell my family to stay on the other end of the room if the door was closed for privacy sake. The beds & pillows were hard as rocks making for a not so good sleeping experience as well - which is the main reason for the hotel.
In addition, the breakfast room is way to small for the size of the hotel. It was impossible to navigate the area, never mind find a seat. Traveling with a youngster meant balancing your way through the line, then back to the room to eat. Guess in this case it's true you get what you pay for. I tried this hotel because of the reviews - next time I'll just go to the Holiday Inn select which I stayed at last year and had a great experience at.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speedy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheman, MKTManager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review of Brookstone Lodge. We are very sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations. We do provide softer pillows upon request, and we also have a conference room and outside patio to provide a quieter more intimate dining experience. Thanks again for writing a review of the lodge, and your reccomendations will be taken seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    305
    155
    61
    25
See reviews for
272
401
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We just returned from a four night stay at the Brookstone Lodge. We really enjoyed the breakfast each morning, the pool and the fitness room. Our room was very clean and comfortable - I slept well each night. The staff were all very friendly and gave us good advice on activities in Asheville. There are many restaurants nearby and each restaurant we ate at had really good food. I hope we can come back to the Brookstone Lodge again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awesomepossum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review of Brookstone Lodge. We are so pleased that you had such a wondeful stay, and we greatly look forward to seeing you again soon. Because you enjoyed the restaurants so much, ask about the Asheville Food Tours next time you are in town! It's great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed two nights whilst on a touring holiday. As others have said Brookstone Lodge is clean, fairly new and competitively priced. It was in a great location for us being next to major roads and close to the Blue Ridge Parkway.
The hotel was clean and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was adequate with a reasonable choice but we disliked having to eat it with plastic knives, forks and spoons, something that we are not used to even in budget hotels in Europe.
It is an easy drive into Biltmore village for restaurants in the evening. We would have liked a food outlet for a decent evening meal closer to hand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review of Brookstone Lodge! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon. Just so you know there are a lot of really nice restaurants within 5 minutes of the hotel, and our staff would love to help you find one that fits your needs. Again, thank you for your review, and we will see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed here for a few days right after they opened. It is exactly as all the other reviewers have stated. New, clean, tastefully upgraded decor, close to everything, quite, very good assorted menu for free breakfast. affordable rates. It just can not be beat for the value . I forgot to mention there is an outside patio to enjoy. I love having my morning coffee (they have excellent coffee) outside soaking up that good mountain air. What more would you want? We are planing a family reunion this summer and hope to book it there. I have come to Asheville for many years to vacation and have yet to find a place to compare to Brookstone Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollybudFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review of Brookstone Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found us to be the best hotel in Asheville for value and quality. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My Mother, two Aunts and I stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Asheville, NC. It was to celebrate my Mother's birthday with a "girl's trip" and to visit the Biltmore Estate. The hotel was conveniently located off the interstate and less than a 10 minute drive to the Biltmore Estate. The hotel appears to be pretty new and everything was immaculate. The room was spotless.

We reserved a room with two double beds and there was plenty of space for the four of us and all of our suit cases (remember - this is 4 women!). The beds had nice, luxurious comforters on them, higher quality linens and 3 fluffy pillows per bed plus a throw pillow. (I hate flat pillows.)

The room was nicely decorated and included a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, cabinet storage, flat panel TV on the wall, chest of drawers, nightstand between the beds, couch with cocktail table, writing desk with desk chair, ironing board with iron, luggage stand and blackout drapes. The bathroom had a granite countertop and granite walls surrounding the tub and ceramic tile floor. It was maintained spotlessly our entire stay. The towels were large and of higher quality. Shampoo, cream rinse, body lotion and bath lotion were supplied. They also provided a blow dryer.

The facility included an indoor pool, spa/hot tub, workout gym and breakfast room where a hot breakfast was provided every morning. Breakfast included a large assortment of yogurts, cereal, muffins, bagels, pastries, sausage, biscuits, gravy, scrambled eggs and make-your-own waffles. They provided 4 types of juice drinks, milk, ice water and great coffee! Yes, the coffee was great! And they provided both caffinated and decaf.

The staff were the friendliest I've ever met -- providing excellent service and always anxious to assist in any way they could.

We took advantage of the spa/hot tub and pool. Towels were provided in the pool / spa area.

All rooms are interior entrance only, so security was great and they have 24 hour staff on site. They also had a security system with multiple cameras throughout the public areas in the hotel where the front desk could monitor. I honestly can't say enough good about the hotel, the service and the location.

We also got what I felt was a great rate for staying at such a nice hotel. I've stayed at more expensive hotels that were no where near this nice or clean. I checked out the pictures online prior to making my reservations and the pictures on their website are an accurate reflection of the property. Since the hotel is so conveniently located to the interstate, there may be a little noise from the highway. Our room faced the highway and it wasn't a problem. But if you think it might be, then just ask for a room on the building side away from the highway.

When I visit Asheville, NC again, this is where I will stay and I strongly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missing_Water
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to write a very extensive review of Brookstone Lodge! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience, and we can't wait to have you visit with us again. Thank you once again for taking so much time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed here for a night last fall. What a nice quaint little hotel. I had a mini room - but was nicely done with bed/TV/bathroom - oh and fridge/microwave. Nice fitness room too - manager was very helpful with helping me get a machine turned on correctly. Decent breakfast options.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review of Brookstone Lodge. We are very pleased that you found our hotel a great stay, and we look forward to you visiting with us again. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We were very happy with our visit. The room was big, nice flat screen TV and the bathroom was really nice with the tile bathtub! The continental breakfast was a great surprise. I was thinking bagels and toast...they had that as well as eggs, sausage, Belgium waffles, biscuits and juice...all included. Staff was very friendly. Minutes from Biltmore. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevkid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheman, MKTmanager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Thank you very much for your review of Brookstone Lodge! We are so excited that you found our hotel so accomodating and the breakfast so wonderful! We hope to see you again real soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#34 of 66 in Asheville
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
1.4 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstone Lodge

Property: Brookstone Lodge
Address: 4 Roberts Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-8613
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
#20 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a mountain lodge just minutes from Biltmore Estate, downtown Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and the area’s finest shopping and dining. Amenities include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, wireless internet, fitness center, and much more. Some in-room amenities are 32" flat screen HDTV, granite tub and vanity, microwave, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, and hair dryer. We are independently owned and operated. AAA-3 diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstone Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing