We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!”
Review of Brookstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brookstone Lodge
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
florence, sc
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

There was no mattress pad. Hair was between the mattress and the sheet! I asked the front desk for a name of a street downtown so I could enter it in my gps so that we could explore downtown shopping. They had no idea! How can you live in Asheville and not know? The shower was sluggish to drain and there was soap dispensers attached to the shower wall like a public restroom. The only reason I chose to stay at this place because it was close to the house and the photographs look pretty. mistake!! Mattress was awful and the pillows were as hard as bricks! To top it off, the morning coffee was awful! How did this place get good reviews?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry to hear you did not have a wonderful experience. We take pride in being clean and offering a great product at a great value. Our courteous, professional staff are always willing to offer entertainment, dining suggestions and directions. Our complimentary, 24 hour coffee service usually gets good reviews. Thanks for the comments. We use the feedback as a tool to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    304
    154
    59
    25
See reviews for
271
398
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good place to sleep -- clean & comfortable, the usual free breakfast of cereal, muffins, fruit, yogurt. The location is good for getting to downtown, the River Arts District, the Biltmore House or the Blueridge Parkway. There is nothing scenic here, but good rates for staying here and heading out during the day. I'll go back!

Room Tip: I have read other's posts "not near the elevator"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Your positive feedback and good comments are appreciated. Thank you for keeping us as your lodging of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a very pleasant 3 night stay here. Room very comfortable; a little noisy but tolerable (they had informed me about that particular room & had cut the rate for that reason). Staff helpful, pleasant. Furnishings and bed very good quality. Good location in terms of getting around but not a very scenic part of town. Tended to be busy and kind of noisy in general but indicative that it was popular. The building & grounds are kept up well.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We appreciate the high rankings. We are quite popular and we pride ourselves on offering a great product at a great value. Hope to see you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We checked in about 9:00 pm just to spend the night and head on to Nashville. The room was fine. The lady at the front desk was very nice at check in. We got up, had breakfast (complementary and pretty good), and headed on to Nashville. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor so the construction did not bother us luckily!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemsonGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the comments. We are glad you enjoyed the Lodge and that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We are currently staying at Brookstone lodge. We are on the 4th floor, their latest addition. Non stop construction, pool is empty due to a major water leak/damage, elevator closed off/on due to maintenance. The fire alarm went off for a few miniutes and people started to leave their rooms to evacuate. False alarm, but scared my 13 yr old daughter. This place shouldn't even be open right now. Feels like your in a construction zone. It's too bad, because this is a nice place, or at least used to be. The staff was VERY friendly though, as I've been finding out here down in the south.

Room Tip: Be sure to tour the Biltmore Estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. Yes, we are very close to completion of major renovations due to flood damage from a frozen, fire sprinkler pipe. We elected to stay open during this process as we were not sure of the severity of the damage. We are sorry for any noise and inconvenience this caused for our guests. We are excited about the finished product, as nearly the entire structure of the building has been replaced and will be like new. Please consider us again. We would love to show you the new facility and all it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when we were browsing homes in Asheville and checking out schools. We stayed in a jacuzzi room with a tub that was so huge I could've laid down in it. The staff was very friendly and helpful and there's a nice little shop in the front for medicine, snacks, and info about Asheville. Loved it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 425alyssaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Very nice to read your review. Thank you so much for all the compliments. We are glad you had a nice stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very nice, clean hotel near Asheville Eye which is why we stayed there. The rooms are not enormous, but I was not going for the room. Rooms have coffee pots and a refrigerator for restaurant left-overs.
Only one night table in the King bed room-annoying, but otherwise great staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrw007, Manager at Brookstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for the recent review. We are glad that we could meet your expectation and accommodate you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#33 of 66 in Asheville
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
1.8 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstone Lodge

Property: Brookstone Lodge
Address: 4 Roberts Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-8613
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Asheville
#20 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a mountain lodge just minutes from Biltmore Estate, downtown Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and the area’s finest shopping and dining. Amenities include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, wireless internet, fitness center, and much more. Some in-room amenities are 32" flat screen HDTV, granite tub and vanity, microwave, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, and hair dryer. We are independently owned and operated. AAA-3 diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstone Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing