We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and great service!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nona Mia Italian Kitchen - CLOSED

Nona Mia Italian Kitchen
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Nona Mia Market, Deli & Pizzeria will be closing its doors as of Tuesday, June 30, 2015. It's been a phenomenal twelve years for us here in West Asheville...and we want to take this opportunity to thank all of our patrons for your support, your friendship, and for all the wonderful memories we'll be taking away from our time in business here. We will be taking time off to (finally) relax and enjoy family. Although Nona Mia is now a memory, that doesn't mean we've distanced ourselves permanently from Asheville...we hope to resurface somewhere, soon, in some capacity. The Farmhouse Pie has not died! We wish love and good health, happiness and harmony, and peace within, for all our friends and former patrons. And one last time, we wish you...Buon appetito!
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Everyone is so friendly when we go to Nona Mias ... Always willing to make our food to order... The food is exceptional... Verde Salad one of my facorites... With their awesome dressing.. Calamari very unique presentation and fabulos as well.. Pizza are sooo good as they are cooked in a brick fire oven YUMMY ...I Love Nona Mias the only negative was the music was loud!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kangaroosix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    15
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian Restaurant in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding food and outstanding service, we were met by the Acting Manager and led throughout the dining experience with suggestions and samples. It was quite a treat. I recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Restaurant in Ashville, NC-Nona Mia Italian Kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I had the best Italian meal in years (and we eat a lot of Italian meals at restaurants) at Nona Mia in Ashville last week. We were looking for a local restaurant and were told by the staff at Country Inns and Suites that Nona Mia was terrific. They were absolutely correct. From the moment we entered, Chris (the manager) seated us on the deck and proceeded to make us feel truly at home. He explained the menu to us as we had not dined there before. They make their own pasta, cheeses, etc. daily. We enjoyed two of their signature dishes immensely. Chis and his staff were wonderful. As we travel through that area to visit family in Charlotte and Columbia, we will definitely stop there whenever we can. Thank you Chris and Nona Mia for a wonderful dining experience. Nona Mia is located on the west side of Ashville.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soulmates50Years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Italian Soul Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

All menu items are made from scratch. The portions are large, and they advised us to share if we wanted one of their delicious homemade desserts. I shared a rigatoni with vegetables including eggplant, my husband had the flat iron pork, and my friend's husband had the meatballs (made with veal, pork and beef) and spaghetti. We started with bread (they charge for it, but it is worthwhile) and salads--large more than ale for three. For dessert we shared a chocolate gelato cake and cannolies. Everything was supurb! The service was attentive. We plan to go back for another meal while we are visiting Asheville.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyOakdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our experience started off great. Server was very pleasant and was able to quickly get the kids in our group taken care of with food. Things went downhill from there. The server failed to mention that a calzone takes at least 25 minutes there. Our kids were all done eating well before our food even started to arrive. In fact, we had ordered them dessert before our food arrived. When our food arrived, one of the calzones was spilled down my back, yes the sauce. Another very nice waitress tried her best to get it out of my shirt. I did appreciate that. The family that had ordered the calzone decided to not bother getting another, as they had a 2 year old with them and it was already late and didn't want to wait another half an hour. Our waitress came over to tell us we wouldn't be charged for the dropped calzone (really?!).

The manager was still no where to be seen. He never came over to the table to apologize or make things right. We stated that we thought the family should be compensated by their bill being taken care of (they had a salad and a beer on it) and that my meal should be compensated, considering my shirt was ruined. The waitress was stuck in the middle running back and forth between the manager and us. What a crock. The managers job is to come over to the table, not hide behind the waitress. A friend at the table finally went over to the manager herself to let him know how badly it was handled and such. They ended up taking $ off the meal, but that really wasn't the point. The fact of the matter was that the manager did not do his job and see to the customers, but instead chose to hide behind a waitress and put her in an unfortunate position.

Because of this, I will not be going back, nor recommending this place to friends, unless you can get takeout.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nona Mia Italian Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing