We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it ”

Gray Line Trolley Tours
Ranked #3 of 62 Tours in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on board one of Gray Line's nostalgic trolleys for a fully narrated journey, highlighting the history, homes and hot-spots of this "city of surprises." Hop-On and hear the story of a city rich in architecture, history and the arts...Hop-Off and experience it's eclectic shops and galleries; its world class culinary and craft brew scenes. It's fun and informative! Join us and see why we are Asheville's Most Sightseeing Tour!
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't do it ”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

As I write this I'm still standing at stop #5. You spend more time waiting for the trolleys because they are all full then you do riding it. Thus, if do this tour never get off. If you hop off you may never get back on. This is our second 1 hour wait! Just say no!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iheartasheville, General Manager at Gray Line Trolley Tours, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Jeff C, I apologize that this was your experience. On Saturday, July 26, there were some unusual circumstances that did not allow us to provide our typical level of service. It is, however, a continued effort of ours to always provide an entertaining, informative, and enjoyable experience to our guests. I hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to provide a more typical experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,148
    188
    39
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We went on the ghost tour with high expectations, but we were disappointed. The tour guide knew her stories, but she spent a lot of time telling dumb jokes, joking back and forth with the driver, Mary, and talking/joking with passengers in the front of the trolley - leaving the rest of us to hear one side of the conversation. She lacked the drama and enthusiasm needed to conduct a successful ghost tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iheartasheville, General Manager at Gray Line Trolley Tours, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I'm sorry the tour did not meet you expectations. Feedback is valuable to us because it helps us increase our level of customer satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tour”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our tour guide Brian was amazing. He's a bald dude and teacher, if you see him, go on his tour. He knew the city like the back of his hand and provided plenty of humor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Brian did an impressive job highlighting the sights of interest for the various families and groups on our tour. This was a solid orientation to the city, making seeing a lot in a short time very accessible for our group with some mobility issues.

Helpful?
Thank TravelMom269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great way to get an over view of Asheville”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Start at the visitors center and ride the entire "loop" - it takes about 1hr 45 minutes. The trolley driver will give you a running commentary about the history of Asheville. The tickets are good for two days. Once you have ridden the complete loop you can then take the trolley to any of the stops to more fully explore an area that appeals to you. You can get on and off as much as you want for two days.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SALLYCAT8166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Trolley Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Gray Line Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing