We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth your time & money to see Asheville in a day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gray Line Trolley Tours

Gray Line Trolley Tours
Ranked #3 of 57 Tours in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on board one of Gray Line's nostalgic trolleys for a fully narrated journey, highlighting the history, homes and hot-spots of this "city of surprises." Hop-On and hear the story of a city rich in architecture, history and the arts...Hop-Off and experience it's eclectic shops and galleries; its world class culinary and craft brew scenes. It's fun and informative! Join us and see why we are Asheville's Most Sightseeing Tour!
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth your time & money to see Asheville in a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

For $20/adult (under 5 are free), an outstanding value. Trolley travels through the highlights of Asheville and allows you to get on and off at the 9 pre-established stops. We rode two different Trolleys driven by two different guides, Mary & Uncle Ted, who were incredibly knowledgeable and informative regarding every aspect of Asheville ... both were also very personable and entertaining. We really enjoyed just riding the Trolley and listening to the info the guides were sharing ... our 3-year old also enjoyed the ride in the open-window Trolley. Highly recommended by us!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank CCW2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    167
    36
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service, friendly staff, great tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We scheduled a tour of Asheville as part of our family reunion activities. The staff was most helpful in setting up the reservation and they delivered what they promised. The price was reasonable (group discount and ticket was good for a second day) and the tour guide was great. You are able to leave the trolley and re-board at no additional charge. Highly recommended attraction if you are visiting lovely Asheville, NC.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank deodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Asheville, the Gray Line Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Denise was wonderful. This was the best spent 2 hours I could have imagined. She truly loves the city and has emersed herself in the history and lore of the city. She was entertaining as well as gracious in her tales of Asheville of the past and the wonderfully diverse Asheville of today. I will definitely recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Asheville--whether it's a first trip or a return visit. Great job, Denise.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dsunflower63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great trolley tour and great guide, Denise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We took out-of-state guests on a trolley tour of Asheville, NC, on the Gray Line Tours. (The trolleys are a bright happpy red, BTW, not gray.) We were so lucky to have Denise for a tour guide/driver. She skillfully maneuvered around an accident and a road block and several detours, never missing a beat in her informative, highly entertaining introduction to Asheville. We have been on lots of similar tours but never with a guide who was so enlightening AND entertaining. We thought we knew the area, after living in the region for years, but learned lots! Her contagious enthusiasm and vast knowledge of Asheville's history and attractions really made the tour memorable. Thanks, Denise, and thanks, Gray Line!!! We will continue to ride the red trolley and recommend it to our guests here at our bed and breakfast! PS: Gray Line, when you add drivers, maybe you can clone Denise....

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Irisgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Way to See Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Do this tour when you first get to Asheville! You will learn so much about the city, and then you can plan what you want to do after you've seen this overview of Asheville. The guides were very knowledgeable, humorous, and accommodating. You can get off at different stops to eat, shop, or sightsee and then get back on the trolley later. Great experience!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank walkingteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Trolley Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Gray Line Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing