We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in the Hustle Bustle of Asheville - Surprisingly good, but a Bit pricey”
Review of Modesto

Modesto
Reserve with OpenTable
Modesto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Battery Park Ave
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Find in the Hustle Bustle of Asheville - Surprisingly good, but a Bit pricey”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had 12 of us here on a busy Friday. Good, engaging server helped. Nice selection of well made food, from Bolognese to Pizza to Lamb Burgers, to Caprese "Burger" to Crab Cakes. A bit pricey ($20 per person with tax and tip with drinks for lunch) All in all, worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    104
    39
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pasta dishes are the way to go.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The folks ordering pasta dishes were pleased with their meal. My delmonico ribeye was not good. Way too much fat to enjoy. No green side options are available such as sautéed spinach.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doubledeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice sidewalk eatery”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This staff was engaging and friendly. The food was good. I think there is a lot of competition nearby with more adventurous menus. If you want Italian, it's a decent place to eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mabrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
188 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good italian”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Modesto,has a very nice location with outside sidewalk dining . Food was very good with a nice selection of italian wines. The seafood dishes looked really good but we where in the mood for pasta. The outdoor seating provides a constant flow of entertainment from the electic mix of passers by.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank krfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Modesto was really good food and good service. From our wine to the main dish to our dessert. We were thoroughly satisfied. The waitress was very personable and exchanged her suggestions. I would go back again on my next visit to Asheville!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracef57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modesto also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing