We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks really rough, but the food is great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Admiral

The Admiral
Reserve with OpenTable
The Admiral is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Michigan Avenue
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Looks really rough, but the food is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

You could easily overlook this place if you didn't know what you were looking for. It certainly does not look like fine dining. The inside doesn't either, and I think they try to cover that up with really dim lighting.
That being said, I'm not one to care much about how the place looks as long as it is decently clean, which the Admiral is. We had several small plates, starting with the gnocchi, which I liked but my wife didn't care for much. We also had mussels, pork belly, flat iron steak, and something else that I'm forgetting right now but were all very good.
Asheville is a town with a stupid number of great places to eat. Perhaps the best recommendation for the Admiral that I can give is that I would eat here again for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uncwalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    114
    50
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cullowhee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More like a "Commander" than an "Admiral"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We'd been looking forward to dining here based on some reviews, but after dining there, didn't think that the quality was all that great. We were not "warmly" welcomed by the staff who all bought their food from BJs across the road and then ate outdoors while we waited until 5 for them to let us enter (our reservation was for 5--we were a little early). The wait staff was attentive. The food was good, but not beyond what we have come to expect from a good restaurant...and $32 for the ribeye-(no salad, that's another $8) didn't really match the venue. And if it was an amazing steak, then it would have been worth it, but it was just 'good' and the sides were just okay. We like West Asheville cuisine, but this restaurant isn't one that we'll be frequenting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CullowheeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A GREAT Place in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

When you first see The Admiral, you really wonder if you have made the right decision! It is in a rather run-down part of West Asheville, it has a crummy exterior on the street side, and it is dark and old-looking when you enter. My friend said, "I have been in a bar like this before! It was at the docks in Singapore!"
But, the staff is incredibly welcoming and engaging. One of the owners comes around periodically to make sure you are satisfied, have questions, or want to make a suggestion.
AND the menu is fabulous! Every time I have been there PEI mussels have been on the menu, but in different preparations. The proteins seem to be all locally grown, a plus. The other parts of the plate are all fresh and delicious.
The menu is very unique! but there is nothing unusual. Someday I would like to meet the chef.
The drinks are well made.
Price to quality is excellent.
The Admiral is always at the top of the list when certain friends come to visit! Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Sesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still Ruling The Waves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here the week it opened in 2007. From the street it looked like a dive (still does!), but what a treat is inside.
The service is wonderful; water glass always attended to, drinks refilled quickly if required and no wait for the staff to acknowledge a need.
From the first visit till now (and several intervening visits) the menu is spectacular. It changes daily depending on what is fresh, seasonal and suits the imagination of the chef.
Originally, you could walk right in, now you MUST have a reservation. We ate at 5 p.m. on a Thursday and by 6 the place was at least 50-60% full.
West Asheville has a magic all its own, but you should visit The Admiral to make you time in the area complete.

Helpful?
1 Thank MeadowMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Delicious. No need for 100 words.
We had a great dinner there yesterday, and it exceeded our expectation by far! Food was amazing, service was great and all of this come in a basic dinner setting in an off center neibourhood.
Highly recommended for all food lovers.

Helpful?
Thank Owitkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Admiral also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing