We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good value”
Review of Cucina 24

Cucina 24
Reserve with OpenTable
Cucina 24 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Otis Street
Description: Chef & owner Brian Canipelli opened Cucina 24 in 2008 on Wall Street in the center of downtown Asheville, NC. Our kitchen is focused on melding the traditions and philosophies of Italian cookery with ingredients found in the mountains of the American South. We work closely with a number of area farms and our menus reflect produce that they bring to us.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good value”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Looking around for some decent food (and AC) during Bele Chere and happened across Cucina24. We checked out the menu and decided to give it a shot- at 8pm on a Saturday night we were seated pretty quickly with no reservation. The service was prompt and above average - the waiter was chatty and friendly- and the dining room was serene after the madness of Bele Chere. Ordered the antipasti which are a interesting list that can be mixed and matched at three for 14.00- the portions were not huge but perfect for just a little bite before dinner. We had the calves liver crostini, chickpeas with lemon oil (delicious!) and grilled mortadella. I was really surprised at the quality and taste for the price. For main courses we had the truffled mushroom pizza and the chittara carbonara. Both were excellent. There is a wood burning pizza oven so the pizza crust was just right. For wine we tried the rosato- I am normally skeptical about any non French rose but it was delightful and perfect after the heat of the day. We were pleased to have eaten so well for less than 75.00 (not including tip). Asheville has a ton of great places to eat- this one ranks right up there. Can't wait to go back when the crowds die down.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    110
    47
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“The food exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We loved the food and the wine.
We tried the beet salad, very very good.
The suckling pig dish was superb, it really surprised us.
The lamb shank was one of the best I have ever tried; I grew up eating lamb more than beef, and I know what a good lamb should taste like. This lamb shank passed the test big time.
A quick note, the wine by the glass were mediocre, you will find a better selection by the bottle list.
The service is just OK. This establishment is not an upscale one; although someone may claim it as fine dinning (It is true if you are talking about food).
I highly recommend it if you are in Asheville area, a nice quite dinning experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with food. Oversalted and overpriced.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We ate here because of a family recommendation and we had just come home from a 2 week vacation in Italy. We thought this would be a nice splurge.

I had the goat cheese pizza, my husband the mushroom pasta and we had asparagus.
Food was heavily over salted. The pasta was tasteless, pizza uninteresting.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner at Cucina 24”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We went here for our anniversary. This has got to be the best Asheville has to offer; so for Asheville, I give it 5 stars (it would probably be a 4 star restaurant in Atlanta, where we are from). We’re very pleased we had our anniversary dinner here. I had a scallop dish that was very light (no pasta). The food, wine, and service were all terrific. This restaurant is about 50 yards from the Haywood Park Hotel, where we were staying. Very convenient.The next night, we ate at Fig Bistro in the Biltmore Village which was also very good (4 stars).

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little pricey, but excellent food & service”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Asheville has a number of good restaurants, and Cucina 24 is in the top 5.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtemple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina 24 also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cucina 24? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing