We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Inn That Could”
Review of Sourwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sourwood Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Little Inn That Could”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The Little Inn That Could.
It does not pretend to greatness. But great it is. It is worth the drive past others closer in if it’s solitude and quiet you seek. The Inn wants for the grand vistas that beckon from the mountain’s other side, but at Sourwood, once nestled among the trees and sky, you’ll be amply rewarded. This is bliss of a different sort. A whoopty hill awaits you and your first drive down its spine is daunting. The “fall” comes in two stages and in places feels like an amusement park ride with a 10% grade. It’s been a while since I took trig and without the benefit of precise measures, my estimate is of a grade that is about 65 degrees. Like your first ever grown-up kiss, the ride down and even back up the hill again will take your breath away. With the second trip down or up and you’re a seasoned professional. You’ll wonder why you worried.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermeer_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
149
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2010

If you'd like a place to sit and read -- even choose books from a rich and varied library, enjoy delicious food, hike in nearby woods, sleep soundly. If you'd like to stay high in the mountains, yet be close to Asheville's excellent restaurants, galleries, and shops, feel as if you're living in the branches of trees, yet move inside to a spacious house rich in art. If you'd enjoy fresh air drifting through open windows, cool even on summer days, like rocking chairs lining the deep, screened-in porch, appreciate a friendly and knowledgeable staff who respect your privacy, you'll love the Sourwood Inn. We do--it's one of our favorite places in the U. S., and we keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We visited on the peak weekend in October and the circuitous drive up the mountain was a visual delight. Drove past gorgeous homes tucked into the woods. Once we turned into the Sourwood entrance and drove the one lane gravel path to the hotel, we realized we most likely would not be going out for dinner as it's narrow to drive in the broad daylight...driving in the dark after a glass of wine and dinner would not be a great idea. When we arrived at the inn, we had dinner reservations for the first night without realizing that if we wanted a bottle of wine, we needed to bring our own. So, it was dinner without wine which at first was kind of a bummer, but we ended up having such a lovely evening, it didn't matter.

We loved our room, loved our hot tub, porch and fireplace. The late afternoon tea was delish with different cheeses, spreads, cookies and teas laid out in a spacious room overlooking the woods and mountains in the distance. We ended up bringing in our own wine, cheeses and bread and salads which was just what we wanted. No TV, no internet and my husband and I played ping pong every day which we haven't done since our pre-internet existence.

LOVED the library...best selection of books I've seen anywhere...rich novels, poetry, prose, guidebooks, spirituality, transcentalists...perfect. Wonderful walking trails, friendly but non-intrusive staff...delightful few days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Husband and I were fortunate enough to stay one night at The Sourwood Inn October 28th.

There is little more I can say to add to what has already been written about this amazing lodge. We booked late, so only had the pleasure of one night, but we WILL be back. Hopefully, my photo's will speak for me here.

The purpose for booking here was to TRY and catch some fall colors...it worked!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This beautiful Arts & Crafts style lodge is nestled up in a scenic mountain area, yet still reasonably convenient to all things Asheville. In setting and decor, Sourwood is very reminiscent of Grove Park Inn at a fraction of the cost. All 12 rooms face the wooded mountain views. Rooms are cozy and comfortable with quilts and fireplaces. The bathrooms are to-die-for with waterfall faucet tub, yes, with a view. The common areas are charming and breakfast is fine, but we didn't do dinner there. My SO is not fond of mushrooms or much seafood, and I hate mustard. It seemed each night that dinner included one or all of those ingredients, so we made other plans. Visit Grove Park Inn and grounds for sure; but if you're smart, you'll actually stay at Sourwood.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tada1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We spent out anniversary weekend here (our 4th but not our last visit!). We love the ambience, location, food, and hosts. It all adds up to a relaxing and restorative weekend. We've been there at different times of the year and it is consistently charming and comfortable, with a low key but stylish feel. Love it, love it, love it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayberry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed the first week in October, 2009, spur of the moment reservation while driving down the parkway and visiting the Biltmore. The innkeepers were great and welcoming even when we made our last minute reservation. Everything was great! The room with fireplace, balcony and bathroom was comfortable and clean. We used the real wood fireplace on the first night. The library was our favorite escape. The inn really had a lodge feel to it that we were looking for and we understood up front that we would have to drive 10-15 minutes to get to the Biltmore. We didn't want to stay in town with people, noise and cars all around. The breakfasts were great, too. We will come back on our next trip to Ashville.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpieMayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,828 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#18 of 39 in Asheville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 39 in Asheville
742 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
870 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourwood Inn

Property: Sourwood Inn
Address: 810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourwood Inn, constructed of cedar and trimmed with stone, sits on one hundred acres of hilly terrain at an elevation of 3,200 feet. Each of Sourwood Inn's guest rooms has a private balcony overlooking the Reems Creek Valley, a wood-burning fireplace, and a tub with a view. It was created to provide a retreat where our guests can experience the delights of the Blue Ridge and still easily access the arts and sophistication of downtown Asheville.Outdoor activities in the Asheville area include hiking, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, mountain biking, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourwood Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing