We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally loved the Sourwood Inn”
Review of Sourwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sourwood Inn
Ranked #20 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Totally loved the Sourwood Inn”
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Sourwood and the experience was just perfect. The Inn is a very lovely Arts and Crafts design and the warm service was top notch. We stayed in the Sassafras Cabin, which is located a hundred yards or so from the main inn. The cabin was comfortable, clean and pretty. Kacia is a great chef creating excellent meals several nights a week. I would recommend eating at the Inn for dinner at least once. We dined at the inn twice and both meals were great and reasonable as well. Each morning we enjoyed a full breakfast in a perfect setting. Do not miss the French Toast! The inn keepers and staff could not have been nicer. We so enjoyed our conversations with Nat, who is a wealth of knowledge in so many areas. The inn is about 20 minutes from Asheville and the mountain roads and long driveway entrance may seem challenging for some. I personally did not find this an issue and liked being up on Elk Mountain with all of it's scenic beauty.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Skier50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
148
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

The Sourwood Inn is the perfect respite from the fray of modern life. The rooms are large and tasteful and the bathroom is like a spa - a fabulous "waterfall" type tub overlooking the moutains and a separate open shower.
The fireplace is set each night - all you have to do is light a match. Breakfast is divine - served in a warm dining area. Great hiking trails right outside the door - wonderful rockers on the screened-in porch if you want to read or just be.Staff is quite
helpful but very respectful of your privacy. I was there two nights and left wanting more.

  • Liked — the setting, views, and attention to details - nice bedding, etc.
  • Disliked — restaurant only open Thursday - Sunday
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a picnic dinner the evening you arrive - you won't want to leave!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happynotcamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

We stayed four nights at the Sourwood Inn, a cozy, warm, and unique place in the mountains just outside the city. The entire inn is well appointed in the Arts and Crafts style. The rooms are large and each has a wood-burning fireplace and balcony. The innkeepers and staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The drive to get there was worth it to be in this delightful setting. We enjoyed our stayed and would highly recommend the Sourwood Inn to anyone looking for a special b&b experience.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RivrVuMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Very pretty setting, good hiking trails, clean spacious rooms, and genuinely nice people make this a wonderful place. However, no air conditioning in the summer can make some nights just a little unbearable. I had to shut the doors at night b/c the crickets are so LOUD. We used to live in Denver and going to the mountains there where it drops to 50-60 at night in summer is A LOT more comfortable.

If you're looking for a place in the center of it all - this is not it. If you're looking for a place that you could just hop in the car and be in the center of it all in 15 minutes - this is not it. Easy access, no. You have a long winding road to get to the Inn. If you're looking for a gourmet pampered breakfast - look elsewhere. Also, no TVs in the room or even good reception on the radio. However, awesome game room equipped with a pool table, darts, ping pong...

Enjoyed our stay but won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank cmb830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Sourwood inn. I found through trip advisor recommendations. A brother's reunion with dad. Scenary can't be beat. Rooms very spacious, each with a view of mountains and fireplace. We kept the screened windows open all the time for very pleasant breezes. No A/C necessary since mountain temps cooler.
Nice hiking trails on property. Fly fishing outfitters picked us up at Inn and took us to great local stream for trout. River rafting 45-60 minutes away was a terrific adventure.
We dined in downtown Asheville for dinners. Game room downstairs has billiards, ping pong, board games and tv.
All of the staff at Inn, including, Nat, Susan, Ann and several others, made our stay at Inn and Asheville area wonderful with their warm conversation and Asheville recommendations.
Located about 15-20 minutes up mountain just north of Asheville, it is this slightly remote location that allows for its spectacular views.
I would definitely return again.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Mountain drive
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are flatlander like me, easier access to mountain is from Blue Ridge Parkway
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAJetter30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

It's hard to say anything new about this B&B. Based on our too-short one night stay in early July, we agree with all the positive comments. A beautiful setting, a wonderful room, and a delicious dinner on the patio. Dinner is currently offered Thurs. through Saturday.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank tripadvisormemberwhitewaterwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

This is a wonderful place to stay. We were lucky enough to find it on the internet and after reading TripAdvisory reviews figured we could not miss. The location is beautiful and the people who run the inn are charming and warm. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Fireplaces in every room and showers and tubs with a spectacular view. The food was wonderful and presented beautifully. We stayed for 4 days but hated to leave. Top Notch!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank diziner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,682 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
North Lodge on Oakland
#18 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Albemarle Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourwood Inn

Property: Sourwood Inn
Address: 810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourwood Inn, constructed of cedar and trimmed with stone, sits on one hundred acres of hilly terrain at an elevation of 3,200 feet. Each of Sourwood Inn's guest rooms has a private balcony overlooking the Reems Creek Valley, a wood-burning fireplace, and a tub with a view. It was created to provide a retreat where our guests can experience the delights of the Blue Ridge and still easily access the arts and sophistication of downtown Asheville.Outdoor activities in the Asheville area include hiking, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, mountain biking, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourwood Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing