We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the start the innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel special (they kindly arranged their breakfast menu to make something easily reheatable our first morning since we had a long run and would miss the normal breakfast serving time). The house was incredibly charming and situated in a beautiful, quiet area. We heard neither the comings nor goings of fellow guests. The breakfasts were incredible, and the afternoon baked goods were such a treat. The inn location makes for a relatively easy jaunt to the downtown area if you're so inclined (a walk on foot through the historic Montford area is well worth it). The room in which we stayed (Vance) was so cozy and comfortable--it was the perfect place to relax after strolling the downtown area and hiking trails found throughout the surrounding areas. I would recommend that anyone wishing to stay in a B&B in Asheville look no further than Pinecrest; you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 758 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was the perfect place for our weekend visit to Asheville for my daughter and I while we visited colleges in the area. Even before we arrived, Janna did everything to make our visit comfortable. I had iniltialy only booked a room with twin beds for only one night and when I called back to book a second night, that one was occupied so my daughter and I would have had to share a bed in a different room for one might. About a week before our visit, Janna called to say that she would be able to keep us in the same room so that we wouldn't have to move.

The B&B was everything we hoped it would be. Our room was super comfortable, clean and spacious. There were chocolates awaiting us in a vanity dish and the antique furnishings made us feel cozy and relaxed. The common areas were beautifully furnished and comfortable. I have been having trouble sleeping away from home the past few months but had no difficulty here. I slept like a baby! The wifi functioned perfectly, something I have had trouble with at other B&B's and hotels. Each afternoon, there was a home made sweet and the refrigerator was stocked with complimentary drinks. On Friday there was even a nice bottle of wine. Breakfast was delicious and amazing both days and Stacey went out of her way to accomodate my vegetarian daughter. Overall, I would say that Pinecreast is top notch with lots of lovely little touches that add to the overall enjoyment and comfort of the B&B. The location is close to downtown in a lovely neighborhood of craftsmen style homes and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Pinecrest with friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Stacey, Jana and Jim were such gracious and accomadating hostesses and host. Beds were comfy, rooms were inviting and the breakfast(s) were terrific. I must say the sweet potato pancakes were delicious. Pinecrest was close proximity to town center and if we didnt know where we were going Stacey and Jana surely did! The afternoon snacks were a bonus! Our group has two people that are gluten intolerent and Pinecrest did a wonderful job in taking care of those issues and still providing great service and great tasty food. Thanks for a wonderful stay. I would not hesitate in recommending the Pinecrest for a stay in Asheville and or surrounding areas.
Sincerly Ron and Maureen - Chicago

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsgirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have never stayed at a B&B before and Pinecrest was a fantastic first. My wife and I visited for three nights in September 2012. The location is great and we were able to walk a few times to and from downtown. A cab ride was only $5-7 when we had too much local beer. We stayed in the Vance room and it was cozy, but nice. We were treated to a wonderful breakfast each morning and fresh baked goodies in the afternoons. We really enjoyed talking with Stacey, Jana and Jim about our day's activities and getting suggestions on what to do. We loved Asheville and will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Pinecrest B&B in Asheville, NC in October 2012. Our first visit. Our choice of Pinecrest was perfect. It's location is excellent. The B&B is on a fairly quiet street. It is close to downtown Asheville which is a few minutes by car or a bit longer if walking. If you're in the mood for some nightime eats but would rather not drive, there is the Nine Mile restaurant on Montford avenue a five-minute walk away. Indeed, one night, at about 9 o'clock, we found it packed with the friendliest people you could imagine! As for those who've come to visit the Biltmore estate, it makes sense to stay here as Biltmore is a direct 10-15 minutes car drive away. The rooms in Pinecrest are beautifully appointed. We stayed in two different rooms: the Wolfe room (Thomas Wolfe is a famous son of Asheville, so, of course) and the Cowley room. Not only were the beds very comfortable, the views outside the windows were very nice, looking out as they did into a wood. An unexpected plus. The pièce de résistance is the family: Janna, Stacy, Jim Martin and their family who run Pinecrest. Napoleon said "an army marches on its stomach". Well, we travelers do the same. This is where the delicious and creative breakfasts prepared daily by Stacy and Janna come into play. They really made us feel ready to go out and enjoy the rest of the day after such a hearty meal. We could write so much about that. But one thing, small as it is, stands out. The delicious breads (apple bread, lemon-blueberry bread) that we had each morning made our day. In the evenings, there were delicious brownies and lemon bars to come to. One of the best things about our stay was that all the guests would come together for breakfast and eat and talk and laugh at the same table. It reminded us so much of that scene in Merchant-Ivory's film "Room with a view" where fellow travelers come together to share and connect. This review would not be complete if we didn't point out that Stacy, Janna and Jim were the most endearing of hosts. Stacy looking out for our meals among other things, Janna ever ready to help us with planning visits to various sites and keeping a lookout for our comfort and Jim who reached out to us on our first morning with a remarkable though informal disquisition on the architecture of buildings in Columbus, Indiana. Those were some of the memorable moments. So, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: Thomas Wolfe room!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasu-and-Natalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent two nights at the Pinecrest B&B and had a wonderful experience. Stacey, Jana and Jim were wonderful hosts -- very accomodating, knowledgable and friendly. The breakfasts and afternoon bakery items were excellent and the inn is beautiful, spotless and very comfortable. Futher, the guests at the inn were extremely friendly and interesting. We would recommend this inn to anyone and will visit here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent a wonderful active week at Pinecrest B&B (stayed in Grace Suite). Excellent reviews from past travelers are 100% true. Innkeepers Stacey, Jana and Jim share genuine enthusiasm for hosting guests, offer consistent expertise in operating their B&B (from rooms to food), and provide personalized guidance of what to do and where to eat. In our case, they scheduled golf tee times (at Grove Park Inn and Mount Mitchell), booked a Zipline tour (with the Navitat Company), sold us discounted tickets to The Biltmore Estate and Asheville's Trolley Tour, gave daily, easy-to-follow driving directions, plus made all of our dinner reservations. It was evident that every Pinecrest guest receives complete personal service. Last but not least, homemade breakfasts and afternoon sweets are really delicious. Over 6 days, we never saw a repeat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALSEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
258 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
229 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast

Address: 249 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $179 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the Montford Historic District, just one mile north of downtown Asheville. This 1905 English Tudor style home, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, overlooks an acre of lush grounds and woods and has been restored with elegance and grace. Come and enjoy the Biltmore Estate, the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains and all Asheville has to offer, in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinecrest b&b
Pinecrest Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing