We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn and hosts!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #23 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn and hosts!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We're so glad we chose the Black Walnut for our anniversary trip to Asheville. Peter and Lori were so entertaining and it's obvious they love their home! We felt so comfortable and accommodations were lovely! Breakfast is to die for and think Lori should publish a book of recipes!!! The family pets were an added bonus as were the other guest's pets! We met some wonderful and interesting folks and spent our evenings out on the front porch laughing. Wonderful, wonderful place! Thank you, Peter and Lori, Beth, and others for making our first trip to Asheville so memorable. We WILL be back!! Mitch and Carolyn Lerner, Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    21
    4
    5
    15
See reviews for
26
233
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Peter and Lori are the best hosts we have ever had. Peter will pull up a chair next to you at breakfast or at happy hour and develop great conversations with tips on activities and how to get where you want to go. They also have tickets to the Biltmore Estate and will tell you where to park and avoid the crowded parking lots and the shuttle ride. Peter's restaurant suggestions were most appreciated and turned out great for us. Breakfasts were supurb with the best pastry items in town. Peter's 30 years as a bakery owner in Martha's Vineyard show his expertise. Our room was the Sunshine room on the first floor. A very nice room. The front porch was wonderful to sit with a glass of hosted wine and chat with other guests and Peter. What a great property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler333999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Our room was beautiful, the food both from the afternoon wine and breakfast the next morning was four star quality! Will be back , I only take off a star on cleanliness bc we found several stink bugs in our room and one at our table the next morning for breakfast but he hosts were gracious to get rid of the sucker and being from pa I know how hard those bugs are hard to get rid of! Good luck with that lol but other then that it was wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed three nights and the owners were great hosts. The food was very good and the hospitality was exceptional. On my second day the battery died on my car and Peter assisted me with resolving my problem in a very professional manner. The 5:00p.m. social hour provides good food and an opportunity to engage conversation with everyone. Peter facilitates conversation among the guests in a pleasant manner. Both he and Lori were sincerely concerned with our satisfaction. The Walnut room was beautiful, quiet and spacious

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Whites have definitely maintained if not actually continually improved the superior quality of the whole package of experiences provided here. They continue to treat their guests in every respect possible as they'd want to be treated. We have stayed here five times over the past six years with the last stay being almost three years ago. Each stay especially this most recent one has been exceptional. We stayed in the Magnolia and Camilla rooms in the carriage house since we brought our dog. Everyone here is very dog friendly. Since we booked a bit late we couldn't get the Magnolia (definite favorite) all four nights and would rather change rooms than cut the trip short. Both rooms as well as all those in the house are excellently decorated and comfortable. You come to the Black Walnut to be pampered and fed amazing food. The three to four course breakfasts are all (if not more than) you'd expect from two highly experienced professional chefs. What you will get is a universe away from mediocre eggs, bacon, toast and coffee. Come early, take your time, savor all of it. The only 'problem' is you will be so satisfyingly full from breakfast, you won't feel like taking advantage of one of Peter or Lori's unerring lunch recommendations until early afternoon. That then impinges on taking good advantage of Tea Time that then impacts being hungry for dinner til late. It's all worth it since, we've never had a bad dining recommendation from them. Everything in the dining room, not to mention the whole house, speaks to beauty, care and quality. Many of the items have a very interesting story that Peter will willingly share with you. Tea Time Hors d'oeuvre and pastries are again what you dream about from the Whites' experience. If you want cheddar or cream cheese on stale crackers with Lipton Tea, go someplace else. There is a very comfortable setting to get to meet and talk with the other guests. Providing a superior experience to all their guests isn't a business run with passion by the Whites. Pursuing a passion run like a business is what is still making The Black Walnut and visiting Asheville such a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. The website has a good depiction of each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tn
Level Contributor
183 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Black Walnut. The breakfast was really good except that every morning is pretty sweet. If you are a savory breakfast person may not be you place. The room was great, small fireplace, etc. Bathroom was pretty small. It says pet friendly and they mean it. It's just a little over priced but we would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sethmanand54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Black Walnut celebrating our 36th anniversary. It was truly a wonderful experience from so many perspectives; not least of which was that all the rooms and commons areas were appointed in just the kind of period detail you'd expect from a home built well over a century ago.

Both inside and outside, the inn was beautifully decorated for the holidays. Ours - the Walnut room - and at least two others actually had live, fully decorated Christmas trees inside them! The owners - Lori and Peter - are a fantastic couple who obviously take great pride in how their guests are treated; and equally importantly, in how they are fed. The breakfasts are absolutely incredible - DON'T sleep in. And the afternoon "tea" with its mixture of hors d'oeuvres, deserts, wine - and yes - even tea, was equally impressive.

I grew up in Asheville and did not realize such a beautiful inn existed in my own backyard. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: If you'd like a large room in the main house, ask for either the Walnut or Azalea rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackTillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 39 in Asheville
713 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Asheville
545 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 288 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our elegant style of southern hospitality and warm, personal service in our historic Arts and Crafts home. The dining here is as exquisite as the surroundings! A vacation at The Black Walnut is a truly quality experience with true value and true luxuriousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Hotel Asheville
Black Walnut b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing