We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$143
$136
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$80
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$179
$152
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Residences at Biltmore(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Grove Park Inn(Asheville)
$209
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$349
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
325
23
5
6
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
325
23
5
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslori and peterivy gardenmagnolia roomb bturnoversother guestsfront porchkoi pondafternoon winebananas fosterwonderful hostshors d'oeuvreseach morninghost and hostessowners and staffwine and appetizershouse is beautiful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 375 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I left this morning following an amazing weekend at the Black Walnut. This was my husband's first B&B experience, and he loved it. We were greeted by Beth upon our arrival, and she was so helpful and knowledgable with dining options in the area. She helped us make reservations at a wonderful restaurant, Cucina24. Our room, the Dogwood, was beautiful as was the rest of the Inn. We had a delicious breakfast every morning and wine and delicious treats on the front porch in the afternoon. Lori and Peter are truly wonderful people and great hosts, and it was such a pleasure to meet them. The hospitality and level of care you receive here are unmatched. We look forward to our stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The owners of this marvelous inn located in an historic section of Asheville made sure that our first trip wouldn't be our last. We started each morning with a sumptuous breakfast which provided plenty of fuel for the activities ahead, and our innkeepers were full of great recommendations to fill each day with fun festivities. Late afternoons provided an opportunity to make new friends during happy hour where our hosts provided a selection of wines as well as savory and sweet treats. Add to that the guest refrigerator filled with water and soft drinks, the homemade chocolate candies that arrived on our bed each night, and the beautiful and comfortable guest room where we rested up for the next day, and we were in heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pretty place - very stylish. Fancy, different hors d'ouevres each afternoon, with sumptuous, creative breakfasts each morning. Extra servings of whatever, as well as wines, were available after hours in the community fridge in the parlor area. Located in a wonderful neighborhood with a great Bohemian restaurant nearby. We were in the sunshine room, and it was very nice. Watch the parking, a bit cramped, but expected. No other complaints here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradenob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with this B&B from the moment we entered. We were greeted by kind staff and our room was clean and charming. We arrived during happy hour and were wowed by the selection of homemade goodies - I especially loved the chocolate flourless torte! We enjoyed chatting with the other patrons as well as the innkeepers. This place, though elegantly decorated, has a warm sense of home. Breakfast is AMAZING and the tables are beautifully set with silver and china as the morning sun peaks in through the bay windows. I wish I could wake up there every morning! We regretted to leave, and will definitely be telling our friends and family about this gem in Asheville. We will stay at the Black Walnut on our next visit, for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

From the time we pulled into the parking lot until we left early early Monday morning, we were treated like royalty. The room was heavenly and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Lori and Peter went so far beyond it was just the best birthday get away ever! It was like old "home week" when we met Peter and found out that we went to Palm Beach High together. It just got better and better. Do not bring your diet to Black Walnut because you MUST eat breakfast every day and I do mean different and delicious everyday and you must to hor douevres also everyday!!!! Because we had an early flight home Peter made us "hot turnover" right out of oven to take with us on way to airport. Dinner suggestions and reservations were provided every morning by Lori and Wow were they good. I am so sorry I can't remember the names of the girls. But "sometimers " has set in. Thank you Lori,Peter and girls for a beautiful get away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews