We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Biscuit Has Set The Bar For All Other B & B's”
Review of Sweet Biscuit Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sweet Biscuit Has Set The Bar For All Other B & B's”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I decided to surprise my wife with a birthday weekend to Asheville, NC. As part of the surprise, I wanted to treat her to an experience that would be a "first." That experience would be to stay at our first bed and breakfast. A lot of research went info finding the perfect location, but after reading the overwhelmingly GREAT reviews for Sweet Biscuit Inn on several sites, including TripAdvisor, my decision was a no-brainer. Booking our room was made very easy simply by visiting Sweet Biscuit Inn's website. I booked room # 5 (The King Room) from December 13th to December 15th. Before our arrival, I emailed Sweet Biscuit with a few dietary restrictions and a request for a birthday package to be placed in our room for my wife upon our arrival. Christian promptly emailed me back confirming the receipt and my requests. Upon our arrival to Sweet Biscuit Inn, we were met by a beautiful home in a quiet and relaxing historic neighborhood of Asheville. We were met by Christian who quickly greeted my wife and I; he assisted with taking our luggage inside. Claudia greeted us from the porch as she was putting finishing touches on Christmas decorations. As we entered the house, we were greeting by the warm glow of candles and the scent of the holidays. And yes...chocolate chip cookies (which are excellent)! Christian gave us a brief tour of the house, explained times for breakfast and escorted us to our room. The house as well and our room was in immaculate condition. As requested, the birthday package was waiting for my wife as we entered our room. It consisted of chocolate truffles, grapes, strawberries, pears, carrots, radishes, broccoli, cauliflower, assorted cheeses, assorted crackers, chilled apple cider and balloons.With Christian and Claudia at the helm, no detail is overlooked! I love the mini chalk boards with your name that hangs on the outside of your room's door. Our room was so relaxing we did not leave it for the rest of the evening. In addition, the house is very quiet. You do not hear other guests movements throughout the inn. The next morning we joined the rest of the guests in the dining room for breakfast. Claudia is the mastermind in the kitchen and Christian is the gracious host. To say the food is excellent is an understatement. My hat goes off the Claudia. Together, Christian and Claudia gives you an unbelievable culinary experience during your stay, and the crepes...UNBELIEVABLE!!! They are also very helpful with suggesting areas of interest/restaurants. To further assist in your Asheville experience, they place a map of the area and a listing of their "favorites" (shops, restaurants, etc.) in your room. Bottom line, Sweet Biscuit Inn sets the standard of what a bed and breakfast should be. My wife and I will not hesitate to stay there again. Christian and Claudia is a beautiful couple and their hospitality ranks off the chart. THANKS FOR A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: Choose Room # 5 (The King Room)...very large room, great view of neighborhood, bright colors, airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear James C,
WOW, this is breathtaking!! Thank you so very much for your detailed and raving review, it was a pleasure to read!
We liked the room with all the birthday decoration ourselves and it was nice to see, how your wife did as well.
Have a wonderful New Year and take care,
Claudia and Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    39
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
192
414
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We loved our visit to the Sweet Biscuit Inn. We stayed for two nights and the breakfast each morning was delicious. The house and grounds are beautiful and are convenient to both the Biltmore and downtown Asheville.

Most importantly for us, the Sweet Biscuit Inn is very child friendly. We called ahead to ask about bringing our 15 month old and when we arrived we found that our room had been set up with children's books and some toys. There was even a rubber ducky in the bathtub! The house also has a small playground in the yard that includes slides and swings.

At breakfast, Christian and Claudia set out a high chair for our son and served him some fresh cut berries while breakfast was being prepared.

We are looking forward to staying with Christian and Claudia again next time we travel through Asheville.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Dan F,
a happy and healthy New Year to all of you, and thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Watching you two taking care of your son was a real pleasure, and we were glad, that everything worked out fine.
All the best, and hope to see you again,
Christian and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent Thanksgiving in Asheville this year and were so very impressed with the warm, casual elegance of Sweet Biscuit Inn. Claudia and Christian are the perfect hosts for this beautiful inn. Their graceful, intuitive manner of hosting is exactly what we look for when considering a stay at a B&B. And, Claudia's special made-to-order crepes are not easily forgotten! The breakfasts at Sweet Biscuit Inn truly went beyond all of our expectations. We even found our overall food expense for this trip to be far less than usual, as there was no need to eat again until dinner! We loved our spacious room, #5, with the cozy fireplace, and couldn't have been more comfortable. We returned home completely relaxed and well rested -- one of our best Thanksgivings ever! We'll definitely return, and would readily recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Loved the windows and fireplace in #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear anne 458,
it warmed my heart to read your review - thank you so much for taking the time. This year Thanksgiving was special, because we had wonderful guests, thanks for choosing us!
We wish you all the best for the New year, and hope to see you both again soon.
take care,
Claudia and Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn very much. The innkeepers are amazing! We stayed in room number one, which was very nice. The breakfast was amazing and the innkeepers were willing to prepare a special vegetarian breakfast option, which was much appreciated. We will definitely stay here again if our travels bring us to Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear roannac,
happy New year and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We enjoyed your stay with us very much, and it is always a pleasure to be able to comfort our guests with the adequate diet.
Hope to see you again soon,
take care,
Christian and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had the best time. Claudia and Christian Hickl were very gracious and provided a wonderful breakfast in the morning. My wife and I stayed in room #4. It has great lighting and a really comfortable bed. With the newly remodeled bathroom, I found my self probably using all the hot water in the house in the walk in shower. I was disappointed we could only stay one night. We will be back very soon though! We Highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Asheville area.

Room Tip: On the website, Christian and Claudia have included up to date pictures of every room in the house t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_D2_D2_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear David_D2_D2_,
thank you for your warm and kind review. Sorry for thanking you so late, but Christmas was really busy. We also love standing under the shower, that's we wanted to install a really nice one. And don't worry when you come back, you will always have enough water, as do the other guests.
All the best for a healthy and happy New Year,
fondly Claudia and Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at this B&B, while touring Ashville and the Biltmore. The B&B was very clean and well kept. The inn keepers, Claudia and Christian could not have been better. They were both warm and friendly and very willing to give guidance about what to do in Ashville. The beds were very comfortable and each room included a private bath.

However the best part of the stay at the Sweet Biscuit is the wonderful gourmet breakfast. Both morning were met with wonderful fresh hot coffee till breakfast is served at 8:30. Breakfast was to die for and the menu was different each morning but the presentation and the food was consistently super. It started with fruit course followed by protein dish and included fresh biscuits and juice. But then to our surprise there was a dessert course. We has Crepe Suzettes one morning and some fantastic homemade chocolate pastry the other morning. (I would go back just for this.).

Over all, great place, great food and nice people! What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Gary K,
thank you for writing such a detailed review. It was a pleasure to serve you and your friends the breakfast, because we could see, how much you enjoyed it; and chefs do like that!
We already thought of some variation for your next visit.
But first of all, have a restful and Happy Holiday, and all the best for the next year,
Christian and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Claudia and Christian do a wonderful job of making you feel at home. They create a very warm and inviting atmosphere from the moment you arrive. This was our first visit to Asheville and they had wonderful tips on where to eat and what sites to see. Their home is in a great location, only minutes from downtown but off the main road so there isn't much noise, and kept immaculately clean. And, the breakfast was amazing every morning! We will stay here on our next visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CStraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear CStraveller17,
it's so nice of you to take the time and write a review, thank you very much!
It was fun to see how you explored Asheville and liked it, we were glad to help and support.
We hope to see you come back and wish you a restful and enjoyable Holiday Season.
All the best,
Christian and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,185 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
213 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Biscuit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Biscuit Inn

Property: Sweet Biscuit Inn
Address: 77 Kenilworth Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-2542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sweet Biscuit Inn is an elegant seven-bedroom Bed and Breakfast Inn with a Carriage House located in Asheville, North Carolina's quiet wooded neighborhood of Kenilworth. Centrally located, this magnificent 1915 Colonial Revival home offers lodging with urban sophistication and a flair for comfort and friendliness. Our B&B lodging is only 1 1/2 miles south of downtown Asheville's shops, galleries, restaurants and cafes, and only a 1/2 mile north of the Biltmore Estate entrance. The Sweet Biscuit Inn is convenient to all of Asheville's attractions. Whether you are visiting Asheville for the diverse cultural charm, the opulence of the Biltmore Estate, or the spectacular Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina, your visit with us will make you smile. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing