We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! Okay Service.”
Review of Sweet Biscuit Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights over 4th of July. We rented almost all the rooms in the inn for a family reunion. They were kind to provide a pack and play for our daughter, but it was from the eaerly 90's and was pretty beat up. The breakfasts were incredible and the coffee delicious. However, there were never any snacks/drinks available during the day/night. Not even water. When asking for ice water, we were asked to bring the small cup from our room and they would give us ice, and we could get water from the faucet (which is normally fine- but we were sitting on the porch hanging out). We were never being rowdy, but asked to please move our "party" elsewhere or go to bed 2 different nights. Maybe they were stressed, or maybe they just aren't the friendly "inn type people". I would still recc this place, because of the awesome porch and breaskfasts, but if you are wanting a true "inn experience", then this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Our room #3 had a window a/c unit and a large clawfoot tub, which was nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for recommending us, Liz. Flattered that you enjoyed breakfast! We take a lot of pride in the fact that we are experienced B&B owners, so it is disappointing that you think we haven't managed to offer a true inn experience. For the most part, our guests have found us to be very welcoming, relaxed, and friendly, so we are sorry if you felt otherwise. As experienced innkeepers we feel the obligation to care for disturbance-free nights for all our guests, which is why we asked you to be quiet(er) at 1am. I hope you can understand our reasoning here and did't take our plea as an offense.

Furthermore, as advertised on our website, we only offer breakfast. We'd be more than happy to make a lunch or dinner recommendation if you are hungry. There are lots of great places to eat in Asheville, after all! Regardless, we'll definitely take your advice into consideration. If you have any other thoughts or ideas, please feel free to share them with us.

Thank you for reviewing us. We hope you had a memorable family reunion! Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Kind regards,

Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Sweet Biscuit Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 778 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

We loved our stay at the Sweet Biscuit Inn! I traveled there with my daughter on our first visit to Asheville. I chose the SB Inn, because of their reasonable prices and child-friendly atmosphere. It was so difficult to find a place where my 9 year old would be welcome. Also, we made the reservations a few weeks before we learned that the Inn had new owners, so we had no idea what to expect. We found that the new owners are perfect hosts and it was a great experience. They give you space, yet are available if you need them. Breakfasts are wonderful and you can tell they try very hard to make it a great experience. Our room (#4) was nice and had a window unit AC, TV and bath. It was comfortable. There are not a lot of extras (no shampoo offered or hair dryer), but it was fine. It is a very cool old house in a nice area. It was very close to the Biltmore and downtown.

Room Tip: GPS wasn't exact with this one. It said we had arrived at our destination, but had to drive a bl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review, Kristen! We're glad we could help make your first trip to Asheville enjoyable. Having just recently become the hosts of Sweet Biscuit Inn, we were particularly flattered to read, "the new owners are perfect hosts." We can't begin to express how much we appreciate your compliments.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in town! It's always nice to see a familiar face. And we will make sure you find the desired amenities in your room.

Thanks again, and best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband, four-year-old daughter and I all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sweet Bisuit Inn. The neighborhood is lovely. The Inn itself is beautiful, both inside and out. And the food was truly fantastic. As a former pastry chef and a very critical eater, I don't say this often. Almost all ingredients were from local farms. Recipes were sophisticated and delicious. Food was plentiful.

For those of you bringing a child along, Claudia and Christian were very attentive to and accommodating to our daughter. She loved her little cot with her giraffe quilt, the special place setting at breakfast and the swing set out back.

The only issue I had was that there were loud train whistles you could hear in the middle of the night. It was warm while we were there so all the windows were open, exacerbating the problem. If you are a light sleeper, use the air conditioner.

Next time we go to Asheville, we will definitely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arielle e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

From the special giraffe quilt, to "fabulous food," we're pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Sweet Biscuit Inn. What was your favorite thing to eat at breakfast?
There's not much we can do about the train whistles, but like you suggested, the air conditioner is ideal if you are a light sleeper.

Thank you for your lovely review, and enjoy the rest of your summer. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town! It was such a pleasure to have you as guests.

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Claudia and Christian were great host. The rooms were very comfortable. Our room had a sitting area that accommodated our 7 year old daughter with her own TV. When you stay, I hope that Claudia's creps are on the breakfast menu, they were great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Reading your kind review made our day, Dan. Thank you! Comfortable rooms, a family-oriented vibe, and must-have crepes—this is music to our ears. It's nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Asheville!

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Christian and Claudia were wonderful hosts and so welcoming. They ran a B&B in France for 8 years, and let me tell you, they know what they are doing. They are so inviting and were just so wonderful around our 2-year old. And the breakfasts - unbelievable. They served multiple-course breakfasts every day that looked like they belonged in a food magazine. Everything was so fresh. They even did crepes one day - I had mine with Nutella and banana and it was heaven. And our son loved it there. There was a wood play gym at the side of the house with swings, a slide, a climbing wall. And a toy closet on the 2nd-floor landing. I would absolutely recommend this place and would go back again. Thank you Christian and Claudia for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We selected room #3 and it worked out well. There was ample space, and the small entry area was grea...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We enjoyed a friends get-together in Asheville and stayed in the very cute and roomy carriage house. The decorating is simple and calm--a nice change from over-done B&Bs. Breakfast is refined and delicious---a real treat. The apple crumble was amazing, as were the crepes!

Hosts Christian and Claudia were very gracious and are obviously very experienced at innkeeping. The B&B is set is a lovely older neighborhood. It is a bit of a hike to town (but we did it!), but a very short drive. The neighborhood itself is great for walking.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We are so happy we found this place. It is the kind of place you want to come back to. Owners are very hospitable and give helpful information but at the same time they give you plenty of space so you feel comfortable; breakfast food was amazing (several courses of assorted fruits, quiche, dessert, great coffee). Breakfast was served at the table for all guests in a very elegant manner. The house is welcoming and the new owners are in the process of doing touch ups here and there to refresh the interior. I especially liked the room interiors because there is not an overwhelming amount of furniture - you can actually "breathe". Also the location is excellent - just a short drive to downtown Asheville (less than 5 min.).
Great "find" at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,598 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
230 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Biscuit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Biscuit Inn

Address: 77 Kenilworth Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-2542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $166 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sweet Biscuit Inn is an elegant seven-bedroom Bed and Breakfast Inn with a Carriage House located in Asheville, North Carolina's quiet wooded neighborhood of Kenilworth. Centrally located, this magnificent 1915 Colonial Revival home offers lodging with urban sophistication and a flair for comfort and friendliness. Our B&B lodging is only 1 1/2 miles south of downtown Asheville's shops, galleries, restaurants and cafes, and only a 1/2 mile north of the Biltmore Estate entrance. The Sweet Biscuit Inn is convenient to all of Asheville's attractions. Whether you are visiting Asheville for the diverse cultural charm, the opulence of the Biltmore Estate, or the spectacular Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina, your visit with us will make you smile. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing