We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #49 of 785 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nice place. The atmosphere you won't find anywhere else, the decor, Alice in the Wonderlands, wooden bears, everything you can imagine. The bathroom was spotless.
But let's cut to the chase. The food was really good. I ordered a cheese pizza, simple, half w/ pepperoni. The crust it's really yummy.
I'd definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha_Blue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    280
    76
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Groovy”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My spouse and I could not resist stopping at the Mellow Mushroom to see what they had to offer after seeing their advertisement on our hotels advertising channel. We decided to stop by and give it a try on our last day in Asheville. The décor was so fun and colorful the restaurant itself catches your attention from the street. The ambiance inside is very casual and laid back. The staff was friendly as well as helpful. We were a little disappointed when we found out that they do not offer half and half options on their pizzas, and settled with two smalls instead. We were however, very pleased once our pizza arrived. Both the pizza as well as the ingredients tasted and smelled very fresh. The crust and the sauce were both fantastic. The veggie was loaded with all kinds of veggies in generous amounts including mushrooms, olives, green peppers, banana peppers, tomato, broccoli, onion, and tofu. The chicken pizza was equally impressive with a generous amount of chicken, bacon, and other toppings. The inside seating area had a portion of the roof that was glass and let in a great deal of natural light, which was nice since it was too cold to try their spacious and festive outside dining area. The napkins and pizza boxes are all made of 100% recycled material and were recyclable themselves which we also loved. Their menu offered a great deal of other delicious looking items that accommodated gluten free, vegetarians, vegans, and meat eaters alike. We truly enjoyed our overall experience at this fun and charismatic restaurant and absolutely recommend the Mellow Mushroom to anyone visiting or staying in the Asheville area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Travel_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FUN”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

FELT LIKE I WAS TRANSFORMED TO THE 60's The food was wonderful. we parked on the street and enjoyed the neighborhood. We enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Car56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“yummy pizza, hippie atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here to use a two-for-one coupon and loved the pizza. Great crust, not sweet, flavorful sauce and ingenious options. Pretty groovy decor.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kcmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had the HOLY SHITAKE! Pizza and Bells 2 Hearted Ale. OMG. Sooo Yummy! We sat at the bar and everything was delivered quickly and we were able to watch the big game with our pizza and beer! A great night!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank b r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing