We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our daughter lives in Asheville, so we visit 2-3 times a year. If we're staying for a week or so, we'll splurge on a cabin in the mountains. Other times, it's a long weekend and we're looking for something that's easy on the budget. Lodging is always expensive in Asheville, and it tends to get even pricier on the weekends. I booked this hotel based on its mostly positive reviews, central location, breakfast bar, and the nightly rate. We found it to be a great value. I booked on the Super 8 corporate site and received an even lower rate, plus an additional AARP discount. I don't know if this was a special promotion, but the rate didn't go up for the weekend, which is rare in Asheville. With discounts, I only paid about half of what you would for a newer but comparable chain hotel here. It's not a "resort" hotel, so if that's the experience you're looking for, something out-of-town would be more suitable. The hotel's style is that of the old "motor courts," which is common in this area of town, so the rooms are a bit smaller than new builds. It's being renovated, so the exterior may make you a bit skeptical, but you'll be pleasantly surprised when you get in your room. All the furnishings had been updated and were of nice quality, and the room was very clean. Even though our room faced the busy street, we didn't hear any noise. The office staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast bar is on the upper standard for chains. I think it has something for everyone, but if you want a breakfast on the level of steak and eggs, there's a Waffle House across the street. There are many restaurants nearby for evening meals. If you are on a tight budget or just want to allocate more of your travel dollars to enjoying Asheville's many activities, I don't think you can go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you want a non-pet room, ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Asheville, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review of our property! We are very happy your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Asheville, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stopped by and was expecting your typical Super 8.... WOW was I wrong. The gentleman on 2nd shift was so courtesy and polite that I was floored. He answered any and all questions and even provided little tid bits of information that were very helpful and informative that I had not found anywhere else on the internet.

The rooms have been totally renovated and to be quite honest I felt like I was at a Marriott. The beds were clean and crisp and extremely comfortable, HDTV in a hotel? Who would have thought it!

Will 100% stay here again and I recommend that anyone who is hesitant, stop in and ask to see a room. The outside is under remodel now, so at first you may think you have lost your mind, but once you talk to the staff and see a room you will be very happy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Trixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Asheville, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will be more than happy to pass on your compliments to Jeremy, and I am sure he will be thrilled to know he was able to be of such great service to you. Thank you again and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Asheville, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Asheville, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very clean and had everything we needed: microwave, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, coffee pot, hair dryer. Bed was very comfortable and the pillows were fluffy. Lamps had outlets to plug in your electronics for charging. We were in room 125, I don’t know what other rooms were like. They also had truck parking which is very helpful for truck drivers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkeeeandtheWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Asheville, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive review! We are very happy you enjoyed the beds, and found the new lamps to be as handy as we do! Thanks again and we hope you will stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in a non-smoking room with a king size bed. Nice room. Came with a small fridge which was nice and unexpected. Nice sized flat screen TV. Bed was very comfortable. Just and all around nice room for the price. The continental breakfast was standard fare but again, for the money, more than adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8AshevilleGM, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of our property! We are glad you enjoyed our new renovated rooms! We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#50 of 66 in Asheville
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
966 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road

Address: 180 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1853 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#18 Business Hotel in Asheville
#20 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#26 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $76 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Asheville Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Asheville Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing