We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Florida, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The Place To Stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We visited Asheville for one night over Labor Day Weekend. We flew into Charlotte and drove to Asheville the next day. The hotel was the best part of our trip. The location was excellent and the hotel seemed brand new. When we tried to check in at 10:00 am we were told the room was not ready and to come back in 2 hours. Not a big deal. However, when we returned the same person who told us to come back was oblivious that he ever spoke to us. We were fortunate that another person working the reception desks arrived and we were promptly checked in. The person who checked us in was from Austria and he was fabulous. The other guy was from FL and was terrible.

The hotel is in a great location. We had visited the Biltmore on a previous trip so did not go there this time. However it would be quite easy to do that from the hotel. The Bellagio located around the corner was the nicest of all the stores in Biltmore Village. It was a real treat. Unfortunately Asheville was not much changed from when we were there 6 years ago. It is cleaner but not upscale. It is still very hippy which is fine if that is what you like.

As I said earlier the best part of our stay was the Grand Bohemian. The room was beautiful. The beds were very comfortable and dressed in luxurious duvets and velvet throws. The bathroom was also very snazzy. I liked the separate room for the toilet with the frosted doors and brass twig handles. The Roomlinx TV was wonderful. For no additional charge we could use the Internet on the TV to check email or make hotel reservations which is what we did when we decided to only spend one night in Asheville and go to Lake Norman for the other night.

We ate in the bar that evening. The food was pretty good. Although the shrimp appetizer was amazingly small. The breakfast the next day was my favorite breakfast in a long time. They make a fabulous European Breakfast! Poached egg, brie, ham, raspberry jam. Yum!! The restaurant is nicely done with an open kitchen.

Although Asheville was not for us we enjoyed our stay at the Grand Bohemian very much. It certainly made our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    324
    119
    47
    21
See reviews for
239
783
30
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

The hotel is fun and luxurious at the same time. Our first room had heavy remnants of smoke and the front desk immediately got us a new room. The second room was on the

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 11, 2009

The hotel is fun and luxurious at the same time. Our first room had heavy remnants of smoke and the front desk immediately got us a new room. The second room was on the

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Wonderful place to stay and relax. Highly recommend the couples massage. Spa therapists are excellent...best massage I've ever had! Staff was professional and friendly. Also recommend the Junior Suite...roomy and comfortable. Located close to downtown Asheville and all it's great restaurants. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueyluey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Maybe not "perfectly", but for $255/nite, it was a real train wreck!!! Beautiful lobby (very poor traffic layout though and packed with Christmas shoppers) but with most of the space taken up by an open-on-4-sides gas fireplace there's not much room to get through.
HEED THE WARNINGS ABOUT THE ANNEX!!!! Bear in mind that all of this is a "5 Star Hotel". Our "nice view" was of an alley and directly into the large crafts gallery next door. Only seating was on the bed or the desk chair. We asked for another room and got one with a bit more privacy and a micro-shower. The much touted wine was OK but the appetizers were questionable..after 2 hours at room temperature, the bread was stale and the ham had started to curl on the edges!
Elevator went out Friday evening but was fixed after about 45 minutes. Saturday we came back from shopping to find it was out again....and still wasn't fixed when we left on Sunday. Faced with lugging our purchases up 3 flights of steps, we trudged back across to the bar until it was fixed "any minute now". After an hour or so, the desk clerk took us back (again) across the previously-mentioned deathtrap street, through the garage and showed us the back way so we were able to ride up the freight elevator. Again, at $255/night!
The bar's excellent, the valet staff prompt and polite and the bathrooms are breathtaking...so maybe stay at somewhere much more suitable and use these services only!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Beautiful inside and out. Wonderful staff. Everyone greeted us and spoke to us from the doormen, valets, bellmen, etc. They were all extremely helpful and polite. And I would like to compliment our chambermaid. We were there for a Bachelorette weekend and she went above and beyond on cleaning. She even showed me a shorter way the elevator. We did not take advantage of the spa but I'm sure if they were anything like the rest of the staff then we wouldn't have been disappointed.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 4CooksinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Booked a four night stay for our 28 anniversary. Everything was great. You have got to try the Elk Tenderloin in the Redstag Rest. Staff is very friendly and are always willing to make sure everything is right. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olgoat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing