We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - not perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel - not perfect!”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We had two rooms in this hotel for a visit to the Biltmore Estate and stayed three nights. It's new and has a nice ambience to the lobby. Not quite sure what the effect they're going for but I guess bohemian would describe it well enough. The rooms are average size, nothing special. We all thought it was strange that there are no mini-fridges in the rooms (tastefully hidden of course!). We sometimes like to use them to chill water or a beverage that we've brought back to the room. My room had an issue with stray hairs on the small rug near the sink which I didn't like at all. Called for someone to replace the rug and they were cheerful and did a nice job of cleaning the floor again which I thought was above and beyond. They have in room safes (nice feature) and the beds were very comfortable (though I did find on our first night a black hair which appeared to have been pressed with the sheets (another yucky thing for me...) They need to step it up a notch for the price they charge per night IMO. Parking is a concern unless you're happy with valet parking. We were able to find a place within a block where we could park our rental and the valets gave advice on this topic (nice of them). Overall a good place to stay, so close to the Biltmore, but I'd not stay unless I got a super nightly rate ($100 or so).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciafromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    324
    119
    47
    21
See reviews for
239
783
30
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
asheville, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

The hotel is beautiful and VERY high style - as has been stated in previous reviews. However, some of the style does not WORK. You get poked in the eye by a stylish arrangement of twigs as you get off the elevator on the 3rd floor where our room was located (room 329). The music in the elevator lobby is VERY loud - which is disconcerting early in the morning or 11pm at night. The phone is nowhere near the bed, the alarm clock is a Bose radio, which is great, but it is a long way away from the bed. I like to be able to see the clock from the bed. The bed is fantastic and the room was beautiful, but for a new hotel, the AC was fairly loud. The robes are beautiful as was the bath although the bathroom lighting was too dim. My major complaint was about NOISE. The ballroom is on the 4th floor of this 4 floor hotel, right over our room on the third floor. There was a wedding the night we arrived and it was impossible to sleep with the walls and ceiling vibrating to the bass and drums of the band playing right over our heads. The front desk was not helpful at all and only after two calls did they eventually find a room on the other side of the hotel. RIchard, from the staff was the only person who seemed to care and he was very helpful in resolving the noise issue. They cannot rent the rooms under the ballrooms when they have events there unless to the guests going to the event.
As someone else stated, the bar staff was less than friendly.
We had a great waiter, Jacob, for our dinner and the food was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bosman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the Grand Bohemian in mid April. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The only problem was the hall music was too loud at night but not enough so that we had to call the desk. Our room was directly across from the Spa entrance but it was not a problem at all. We never heard any noise from there. We were also by the exercise room and there was some noise from there but again tolerable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the restaurant but do recommend The Dining Room at The Inn on Biltmore Estate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latravel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Music City, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Location - The hotel is located in Biltmore Village, a small area of shops and houses directly outside the main gate of Biltmore Estate. The signage of the property is small and understated. While this allows the newly constructed building to blend better with the existing 100+ year old buildings, it makes it hard to find the hotel if you don’t know exactly what you are looking for. In fairness, this is probably to meet the zoning requirements of the historic district, but be aware of it. I found the property ahead of time on Google Street View and that helped.

The property - It actually consists of 2 buildings across a fairly busy street from one another. The main hotel houses guest rooms, the valet parking garage, reception area, bar, Red Stag Grill, ball rooms, fitness center, and spa. The “manor house” contains only guest rooms. Aside from the reception desk, I didn’t use any of these services, so I can’t rate them, but I did include some photos in this review.

Reception- Service was prompt and friendly. Valets and Bellmen were at the ready. There are only two check-in desks. Check-in was fast for us, but could be slow if you had a few people in front of you. They really could work on being able to process more guests at peak times. I saw people waiting most of the times I went into the main lobby. The entrance is classy without being gaudy. The main lobby features a central fireplace and large heavy timbers. I liked it.

Parking – Valet is available for $15/day. They have on site garages. Self parking is free and is open-air public parking in the Biltmore Village area behind the manor house.

Room - I had a “Superior Room” which is fancy hotel way of saying “Standard King.” Room #16 is located on the top (third) floor of the manor house. It is a corner room and is a little smaller than another Superior Room that some traveling companions were assigned to. The rooms were clean and reasonably well appointed. 40” flat panel with Roomlinx*, coffee/tea maker with Starbucks coffee and Tazo teas, a bottle of wine for $25, and Evian for $5, safe, iron and board, two robes. No slippers or mini-fridge. Ice bucket, but no ice maker. It may have been in the main building, but I didn’t need ice bad enough to go down 3 floors, cross a busy street, locate an ice maker, then reverse the process.

*Roomlinx – This was my first time using it and thought it was really handy. The TV doubles as a computer monitor. A wireless keyboard with built-in mouse are on the desk. Roomlinx serves as a virtual concierge. It gives quick access to area restaurants and menus, events, news, Open Office applications, complimentary On-Demand movies, and a web browser.
Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property w/o a pass code.

Bathroom – Clean and well appointed fixturing. The door to the bathroom is actually heavy drapery. Odd at first, but you get used to it. Fully stone tiled shower and separate toilet room. The other room that my travelling companions were in also included a soaking tub. I think ours was lacking that due to being the corner room and short on space. Granite counter on a beautiful wood vanity. Toto toilet. Lousy toilet paper though. I have to give them a thumbs down on this one part of the bathroom. Come on people, buy some real toilet paper. Single-ply is so Motel 6.

Food - i didn't eat at the on-site restaurant, but the menu looked good. Each morning, coffee with trays of pastries and fresh fruit were available in the first floor lobby of the manor house. I don't know what/where would be available in the main hotel. It's not a full breakfast by any means, but served as a decent morning snack. I can truly reccomend the Corner Kitchen in Biltmore Village for breakfast. Delicious. But that's for another review.

Nice hotel, but they blew a few things – The hotel is located about 100 meters from a railroad crossing and the buildings are divided by a fairly busy road that has traffic throughout the night. The road noise and the train were a bit much. Given the location of the tracks, anything within a 1 mile radius is going to have the train noise, so I don’t fault them for that. What I do fault them for is not using better sound insulating windows and walls on rooms that face the tracks. It’s a critical flaw that should have been in the construction plans but wasn’t. My companions had a room facing the opposite direction and were not bothered much by the train. If you’re a light sleeper, request a room away from the street and train.
Any noise in the hallways carries into the rooms. A conversation at the opposite end sounds like it’s occurring outside your door. Another architectural design flaw that probably can’t be corrected now. Perhaps adding some sound deadening materials as decorative wall coverings would help.
Keep in mind that the noise issues may not apply to rooms in the main hotel.

Value - The hotel just opened at the beginning of April, 2009. They are running a $99/night promo through TravelZoo (Promo Code = zoo99) for April and May. At this price, it’s a no-brainer. It’s infinitely more hotel than the chains of similar price like Hampton Inn or Fairfield Inn. At the published rates, the “value” meter starts going down and other options become available. Don’t get me wrong. This is a $200+/night property. I’m just cheap and don’t like making almost a car payment for one night in a used bed. If you are planning on the $200+ per night hotels, and If you’re visiting Biltmore Estate, the Inn on Biltmore includes passes in some of its rates. Once you take this into consideration, it becomes a competitor of the Grand Bohemian.

Conclusion – I liked the hotel and would stay again. I’m a cheap traveler so I wouldn’t pay list rates. I’d time a visit to coincide with a discount offer, but that’s me. It’s a solid hotel property with a few growing pains to work out. But given the lodging options in Asheville, this hits a nice spot that’s been empty for a while. It’s far better than the national chain boxes, but usually better priced than the 4-diamond Inn on Biltmore. I recommend it if the price fits your budget.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high point, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

A must see to believe hotel!!! We stayed during the Biltmore Festival of Flowers and enjoyed our stay at the Grand Bohemian very much. The hotel was very trendy and elegant; the staff were very attentive. During our stay we ate at The Red Stag Grill, which was fabulous! I had the Hayes Braised Short Ribs which were the best I have ever had and my husband had the trout which was also an excellent dish. Dinner was excellent, dessert was excellent; the chef came out which was a pleasant touch to the evening. I wish that all hotels and restaurants paid that much attention to detail. Our stay was a fantastic experience and I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We recently spent a night at the Bohemian and I absolutely loved the architecture and decor of this hotel. It is a boutique style hotel, which I personally prefer to the boring, standardized chain hotels that all look the same. We spent a lot of time just wandering around the hotel admiring the different artwork and sculptures throughout. The style is rustic elegeance, almost like a chic hunting lodge. There is a stuffed wild boar near check in and some very large antler chandeliers--but it is all very elegeant at the same time. Apparently all the antlers and animal hides, etc are all things that Mr. Kessler himself has hunted. The room was so cozy and comfortable, the bed and pillows were fabulous. This would also be a great place to have a wedding, our room was across from the room they use for wedding receptions and just down from the bridal suite. The bridal suite has a private entrance straight into the reception room which would be very convenient. The crystal chandeliers in the ball room were stunning as well. The location was perfect, nestled in Biltmore Village and directly across from the entrance to the Biltmore Estate. It is a short 5-10 minute drive to downtown Asheville as well. There is also a cute little art gallery within the hotel that was fun to look through. I think this is the perfect hotel for singles or couples wanting a quiet, romantic hotel near the Biltmore Estate. Not the best choice for families traveling with children. We hope to go back and experience their spa next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2009

I was blown away when I walked through the door, the lobby was spectacular and the decor was amazing. The staff was very friendly and accomodating and checking in was a pleasure. The room was beautiful and cozy and bed was super comfortable.

Had cocktails and dinner at the Red Stag; You must try the Austrian Mojito, very tasty and refreshing! Dinner was one of the best I have had in Asheville. I would go there for the trout again.

I know where I will stay and dine next time I visit Asheville!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinnerdiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing