We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun hotel- great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun hotel- great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

What a fun and funky hotel! Someone had a lot of fun decorating this place. Fun bar and professional servers who are very knowledgeable about their beers- not such an easy feat in Asheville ! Check in and check out were a breeze and our room was beautiful and comfy. Wish the stay had been longer but it was a quick trip in town for a concert. Great location. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    288
    108
    44
    22
See reviews for
205
708
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I just stayed for two nights for a mini-anniversary celebration. Every staff member we came in contact with was pleasant and helpful...valets, housekeepers, bartenders, waiters. Al at the front desk should be the role model for all hotel front desk staff. He quickly and quietly switched our room to something more appropriate for our anniversary celebration. He even sent champagne to our room to make up for someone else's misguided room selection.

We really enjoyed the decor and overall vibe of the hotel: kind of a European hunting lodge/castle meets Game of Thrones with some sexy velvet thrown in for fun. We highly encourage this hotel as a romantic getaway. We've stayed at a half dozen places in Asheville and will definitely be coming back.

Pefect location for strolling around Biltmore Village and only 5 minutes by car to downtown.

The only reason we withheld a 5 star rating was because the "spa" really isn't. We had very nice massages so the staff is fine. The "spa," however, is what appears to be one room on the third floor that's been converted to a four room massage suite. Tiny three seat "lobby" that one shares with the usual gifts and products for sale. Not exactly welcoming. The real kicker is there are no bathrooms in the "spa!" My wife had to be escorted up to the fourth floor conference room bathrooms before her massage...in her robe and in front of a bemused group of men having a meeting. So, don't go to the Bohemian for a spa experience. For that you need to head to the Grove Park Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trm1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

When asked to name Asheville's best high-end hotel, most people might offer another property. We spent 3 days/nights here and it was a wonderful, if pricey, experience. With the detailed furnishings-decor and the ever-changing art displayed everywhere, I never would have guessed that this fine place was only 5 years old --- amaziing. It's location, in the center of the Biltmore Villiage area, allows for excellent walks and browsing. Just 2 miles away is downtown Asheville for easy access to all the City's excellent attractions, restaurants, and always-interesting visitors.

Room Tip: preferably not facing McDowell street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

After a long day of travel, we were looking forward to arriving at this hotel. At check in, we were told they had a special room for us that was beautiful. Well, we arrived at the room and found the tv on, ironing board out, garbage in the pails, an unmade bed, and wet towels. An added issue was that there was a wedding reception going on right outside of the room. We called immediately to speak to the woman who checked us in, who, after I complained, put us on indefinite hold and seemed to really not care. After calling back again, we spoke to another individual who tried to resolve the issue. A very nice bellman, I believe his name was Drew, was sent to our this room to assist us to a new room. We did not know that in some of the rooms the bathrooms had curtains and no doors, and we requested a bathroom door. The first room they tried to stick us in had curtains, but then, even though they said the hotel was booked, they found another room with a bathroom door that was suitable. What I found most disturbing after this 45 minute situation, was that the woman who checked us in could not have cared less and never even thought of following up. When we went in the lobby later, she ignored us. I will say that the bellman was lovely and provided a fruit and cheese platter to help the situation. The rest of the staff at this hotel were great..super friendly and helpful. I will say that this is a nice property in a good location, but I do think certain staff need some customer service training.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback regarding your experience. I greatly appreciate the favorable comments about our nice property, good location and friendly and helpful staff. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced upon arrival. It sounds like you may have arrived when we were experiencing some computer issues recently. We clearly did not handle your arrival up to our normal high standards and I’m very sorry. I can assure you that we have already taken the necessary corrective measures. I hope that we will have another opportunity to show you our normal high level of service at check-in and regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. I was traveling on business, and she was tagging along. We had to move to another hotel for my conference the next day, but decided to go in a day early and check out Asheville since it was our first time there. I am a Marriott Rewards member, and picked this hotel due to the high rewards category rating and a decent price.
The rooms were nice, well decorated. We stayed in the building that was across the street from the main building. It was kind of weird having to cross a busy street to get to our room after we checked in, but we had a bellman bring our bags over so it was no big deal. I forget the bellman's name, but he was very nice and helpful (not to mention super-tall). He gave us information about the area and recommendations for dinner that were spot-on. There was no bathroom door, just a curtain to draw that I was not too fond of, but the shower, ohhhh the shower... Probably one of the best showers that I have ever been in. Ever. I was only there for one day, and I took three showers! It was also nice that the on-demand movies on the TV were all free, not usually what I expect at a hotel.
Don't expect much in terms of amenities, they have a restaurant and a spa, neither of which I used, but there was no pool or jacuzzi, which is probably because of the limited space they have. The hotel is located in Biltmore Village, there are some shops and a few restaurants, but everything seems to shut down pretty early. If you are visiting the Biltmore Estate, then the location is probably pretty good, but in the future I will probably opt for a hotel that is located downtown. That being said, the hotel is relatively close to downtown, a short drive. I was very impressed with downtown Asheville, the diverse "types" of people and food and music scene. I will definitely be back to visit the city. As much as a hotel in downtown Asheville might be better suited to my tastes, that shower just might make me stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We just spent two nights at this property and were thoroughly delighted. You would think that you're stepping into a place that has been there forever, but it's deceptively young. The Old World "hunt club" furnishings are unique and luxurious, the rooms spacious and well-appointed, and the location is terrific (right across the street from the entrance to the Biltmore). The staff was delightful, from the friendly valet team to the incredibly helpful reception staff. Overall, a unique and delightful place to stay!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building for the convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBHokie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Robyn Hines helped my hubby make my anniversary stay outstanding. It was magical. We were welcomed and pampered like we were the owners. The goodies waiting for us when we got there..........delicious. Dinner at the restaurant in the hotel..........mouth watering. We even got back to the room after dinner and found a bath run. Love love love.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#1 of 61 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
The Residences at Biltmore
#19 of 61 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#14 of 61 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing