We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interesting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great interesting hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Was surprised by this hotel, the lobby was amazing , like being in a hunting lodge, very cool. We had dinner both evenings, Micheal was our waiter and he was the friendliest person ever, so interesting to talk to, and very knowledgable about the food and where it was sourced from. We liked him so much we requested to be sat in his section the following evening.
The Biltmore house was fantastic, the gardens were just stunning. We went over to Antler village and enjoyed a cold beer in Cedric's pub, very nice.
The only negative with the hotel is the traffic noise, constant EMS going through and fire trucks, so much activity for a small town. Also a train went through at 3am, horns blasting! Drove us crazy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    316
    117
    46
    21
See reviews for
232
766
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Upon entering this "autograph collection" hotel, I felt we had arrived in a hunting lodge nightmare. All those mounted heads! Ugh. Antlers on light fixtures everywhere. I can only hope they were not real.
This is a good location, and the room was large, but we will not return.

Room Tip: try to stay away from ice machine- very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo58-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently stayed at Grand Bohemian and was disappointed. The lobby, restaurant and staff were very nice. However, there are archtectural restrictions in Biltmore Villlage where hotel is located. I was checked in and it was raining. I was told my room was across the street in the Manor House. I thought that was strange, but worse, I was not offered assistance with my luggage or an umbrella. There were brick steps leaving the main building and steps leading into Manor House. It took several minutes for the traffic light to change and the entire time it was raining. I don't know why I was put there, but will only return if I will be in "main" building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
256 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly, efficient and professional. The décor of the common areas is rustic in an Old World fashion. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. Restaurant is on a par with the best in Asheville. The location is excellent for visiting both the Biltmore Estate and Biltmore Village. There are two units to the hotel. The main unit contains the lobby, bar, restaurant, meeting rooms and exercise facility. The second unit is just across the street and houses rooms. There is a small lobby, but is only staffed at specific times. We have stayed in both units. Rooms are exactly the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I really fell in love with this place. It was so pleasant to have a hotel chain design something with real ambiance! It was creative and fun! I loved the theme, all the art, the whole design, our room, the lobby, and the restaurant and bar. We went to the Biltmore (interesting, but too many people) and found this an ideal spot to stay. It was easy to zip into the Biltmore from the hotel.
My husband had broken a hearing aid and though we arrived around 3 p.m. on Friday, the hotel was so helpful in aiding us with this problem that we were actually able to locate and drive to a spot that fixed it for him. That made the rest of the vacation so much more pleasant than it might have been!
We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. I had elk (wonderful!) and my husband had the angus beef which he enjoyed. The drinks were good, and the service excellent. The next night we wanted something smaller and so enjoyed the bar menu.
I will look up other hotels in this chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Grand Bohemian Hotel is in the motif of a Hunting Lodge. The mixture of Old World Elegance and up-to-date convenience works perfectly. In our view this is the best hotel in Asheville, and that includes the Grove Park Inn and the Biltmore Inn. Superb service, wonderfully appointed rooms, great location (in Biltmore Village which is abounding in great shops. High tech wireless setup as part of the super sharp television. My wife and I could not be more pleased. The gallery has a number of quality offerings and the Red Stag Grill is great. Great food selection, professional and courteous service, wonderful view, and a marvel of taxidermy. Roomy bathroom with all the amenities one expects of a first-class hotel.

Room Tip: I don't thik there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevierville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite hotels...
The charm and elegance of this autograph collection location is bountiful... If you want to experience a one of a kind stay in Asheville, no question, the Bohemian is your choice. I would book here every weekend if I could!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggards3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing