We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey in the Fall - but a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is by far one of our favorite hotels we've ever stayed in. The town of Asheville has great restaurants, art galleries, and outdoor activities including the blueridge parkway. This hotel is convenient to them all although is a short drive from downtown. It is across the street from the Biltmore and is in the Biltmore village. The hotel staff is the most welcoming of any Marriott property we've ever stayed in. The hotel lobby is full of art - has a huge 4 sided fireplace with comfy chairs all around. The entire hotel has an upscale "lodge" or "outdoorsy" feel to it. We always enjoy breakfast at the onsite restaurant - it never seems busy. Comfortable beds, big rooms - never heard the train - either we are sound sleepers, there wasn't a train on Saturday night, or Room 315 is well insulated!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for sharing such a complimentary review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location, the “welcoming staff” and the hotel’s décor. When you return to the area, we would love to welcome you back to The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville.
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Grand Bohemian is conveniently located at the entrance to The Biltmore Estate; however, you will need a car to drive to the actual entrance of the Biltmore. The hotel is within walking distance of Biltmore Village with shops and restaurants.

Our room was nicely decorated, but had minimal drawer storage. The bathroom did not have a door, just a curtain, which was odd. Also, we had to go through the ballroom reception area to get to our room.

The hotel restaurant, Red Stag Grill, was excellent. Do the tasting menu with wine pairings -- fantastic foods and wines for a reasonable price.

We stayed using Marriott points. I would have been disappointed if we had paid for this room. Valet parking is required and is not free. Train tracks are close enough that you will hear the trains passing by as well as street traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not require walking through the ballroom reception area.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and your dining experience at The Red Stag Grill. We would love to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Each night at 3:45 / 4:20 / 5:30 AM a train - 1 block away - would lean on the horn and I mean really lean on the horn. Each time I was awoken and went to the window - the train was barely moving and proceeding through a level crossing with either very little traffic or at 4 and 5 in the morning - NO TRAFFIC - at the crossing - yet the train leaned on the horn like a New York intersection at rush hour. I thought I was imagining but the second night was a repeat of the first. I don't understand how the Biltmore Village area and especially the Grand Bohemian that relies on visitors to the Biltmore Estate would allow this annoying practice to go on. So on the second night I thought I would take advantage to the spa and went for a massage - the massage was the worst I have ever had - my back is sore from it - what made it even more horrible was the automatic 20% gratuity that was added to the bill. You had no choice but to tip your masseuse 20%.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iph200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

We apologize you did not have a restful night sleep while a guest at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. Please know your feedback regarding your spa experience has been shared with our team for improvement.
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The front desk staff made my wife and my stay extremely comfortable. Andrew Brown, Robyn and Byrdie all were great. Robyn went the extra mile and was a joy. I am a travel snob and i am high maintenance and they hit the mark!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

We appreciate the review of your recent stay at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are pleased that our team ensured you had a comfortable stay and that we “hit the mark” in service. When you return to Asheville, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent two nights at the Grand Bohemian in Asheville recently. It is a beautiful hotel and is very conveniently located in the Biltmore Village area where great shopping and dining are just steps away. Our room was very nice and we loved the internet TV. I only have two complaints about this hotel. For one thing, the room was dark. The other complaint is the train. We will stay there again, but we will bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel and its convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Asheville.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I organized a small conference here in October. Of 43 attendees responding, all except one rated the hotel very good or excellent. The Grand Bohemain actually was rated slightly higher than Asheville in October. Service support by hotel staff for our conference was excellent.

Pros include the very attractive art installed by Jean Claude Roy and the wonderful location of the property in Biltmore Village and at the entrance to the Biltmore Estate. Biltmore Village has excellent restaurants and shops within very easy walking distance. Service in the hotel was also excellent.

The biggest negative for troubled sleepers is the train. Most guests are awakened at least once a night by the whistle. Attendees staying across the street in the annex building were somewhat less happy than those staying in the main building. Hotel fares for extending stays beyond conference dates were high, as hotels in Western NC tend to be full at peak leaf season.

The ballroom we used for our meeting room had good soundproofing and was adequate for our needs. One drawback is a vertical and long configuration, rather than wide and horizontal.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The spa and fitness center are on the third floor of the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael21tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are thrilled our location and team were able to provide your conference attendees with an excellent experience. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I just read the "Motel 6" review and was SHOCKED!!!!!!!! This place is amazing. I travel all the time. I prefer to stay at the Ritz or W's. I know quality. This place is quality. I have always received superior food and service. The elk at The Red Stag is unbelievable. The rooms are gorgeous. I love the internet TV. I always recommend the Bohemian to anyone/everyone that I know. The only thing that I have ever been disappointed with was the spa. It is very small, and they only do massages. The location is at the gate of the Biltmore house. I have also stayed at The Inn on Biltmore. It is "nice" and convenient, but the rooms/atmosphere can not compare to the Bohemian.

Room Tip: The Manor House is 20.00 cheaper than the main hotel (across the street). It is more private. And...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbellhuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your visit. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and its convenient location during your recent stay at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We certainly look forward to seeing you again when you return to Asheville!
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
2.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $298 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing