We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a small conference. If only the train did not blow.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location for a small conference. If only the train did not blow.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I organized a small conference here in October. Of 43 attendees responding, all except one rated the hotel very good or excellent. The Grand Bohemain actually was rated slightly higher than Asheville in October. Service support by hotel staff for our conference was excellent.

Pros include the very attractive art installed by Jean Claude Roy and the wonderful location of the property in Biltmore Village and at the entrance to the Biltmore Estate. Biltmore Village has excellent restaurants and shops within very easy walking distance. Service in the hotel was also excellent.

The biggest negative for troubled sleepers is the train. Most guests are awakened at least once a night by the whistle. Attendees staying across the street in the annex building were somewhat less happy than those staying in the main building. Hotel fares for extending stays beyond conference dates were high, as hotels in Western NC tend to be full at peak leaf season.

The ballroom we used for our meeting room had good soundproofing and was adequate for our needs. One drawback is a vertical and long configuration, rather than wide and horizontal.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The spa and fitness center are on the third floor of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael21tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are thrilled our location and team were able to provide your conference attendees with an excellent experience. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    316
    117
    46
    21
See reviews for
232
766
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I just read the "Motel 6" review and was SHOCKED!!!!!!!! This place is amazing. I travel all the time. I prefer to stay at the Ritz or W's. I know quality. This place is quality. I have always received superior food and service. The elk at The Red Stag is unbelievable. The rooms are gorgeous. I love the internet TV. I always recommend the Bohemian to anyone/everyone that I know. The only thing that I have ever been disappointed with was the spa. It is very small, and they only do massages. The location is at the gate of the Biltmore house. I have also stayed at The Inn on Biltmore. It is "nice" and convenient, but the rooms/atmosphere can not compare to the Bohemian.

Room Tip: The Manor House is 20.00 cheaper than the main hotel (across the street). It is more private. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbellhuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your visit. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and its convenient location during your recent stay at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We certainly look forward to seeing you again when you return to Asheville!
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Overpriced rroom, poor service in restaurant, poorer food in restaurant (breakfast is all we ate there....grits were wallpaper paste) Was most anticipated (and most expensive) property for a stay on our week's drive down blue ridge... Became the most disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank love2travel2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. Please accept our sincere apology that your visit failed to meet your expectations as well as our standard of service. Please know your feedback has been shared with our team for improvement.
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel was great, super nice room, quite and service was top notch. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in the Red Stag Grill. Both were excellent. Front Desk staff was very nice and had our room ready and sent up a bottle of champagne for our 20th Anniversary.
We enjoyed a day at Biltmore and it was great to be at the entrance. The train noise that others speak of was never an issue for us. Bathroom was super nice, great shower, turn down service, bed super soft. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
We are so pleased you chose to spend your 20th anniversary at The Grand Bohemain Hotel Asheville. It is such a compliment to our hotel and staff that you “can’t wait to return”. We look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Loved this hotel even though it was extremely hard to find the parking entrance! GPS is of no help since the hotel is divided into two parts. Be sure to book at the main hotel, not the Manor House if you are looking for ease of check-in. Biltmore Village is fabulous, you can walk to amazing restaurants... Fig, Country Kitchen & Rezaz in particular. Lots of shops and directly across the street from the gates to the Biltmore Mansion. Definitely drive to tour the Mansion, there is a huge amount of acreage and you will want to drive through the property. Hotel is decorated like a European hunting lodge, champagne and spritzers in the lobby each afternoon and complimentary coffee in the mornings. We were celebrating our 35th Anniversary and a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room. A little too much in the product placement area, bath salts and bubble bath for the fabulous soaking tubs are expensive. Water is $5 a bottle but there are plenty of fast food restaurants on either side of the hotel as well as a Starbucks across the street. Each floor is decorated with different art, very impressive. Only big complaint was that we had a room with an adjoining door, we could hear even the quietest conversation of the the adjoining room. So close to anything you could possible want, lovely area to walk around in. Many wonderful restaurants and shops. Would definitely stay again!! Thanks for a delightful 3 days.

Room Tip: Ask for non adjoining room. We were very close to ice machine but it was no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKDC2921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you so much for the positive review of your recent stay at The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are pleased our location was convenient for you and you were able to enjoy our hotel and art collection. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We travel to The Grand Bohemian on frequent business trips and our favorite place to stay is The manor House at The Grand Bohemian in Asheville.
Large, well appointed rooms with comfortable beds in an atmosphere that is ouiet, private and personal.
The staff is always on call for any need that arises. We have opted to stay in The Manor House over the main inn every time it has been available because of its privacy.
There are several resturants in very close walking distance that make the stay even more enjoyable.
The Wagners Highlands, NC

Room Tip: Ask for a room in The Manor house on 2nd or 3rd floor and on the Gallery side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
The best compliment we receive is to welcome returning guests to The Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and our staff helped make your stay a special one. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I thought I was in heaven! Our room was magnificent with upscale features you'd put in your own home. Plush, inviting, spectacular! The soaking tub has a window that looked into the bedroom and living area. It was delightful! Every detail is perfect. I'd rate this hotel a 10 if I could. I'm pretty picky about where I stay and the Grand Bohemian was more than I hoped for. The restaurant food was excellent - we had the veal and fish - and very fresh steamed and roasted vegetables. One night was not long enough - this hotel will spoil you rotten!

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive king if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatormom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you for a great review of your recent visit to The Grand Bohemian Hotel
Asheville. We are thrilled your stay was "delightful and exceeded your
expectations". Since "one night was not long enough" we hope to see you for
an extended visit soon!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Property: Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803-2656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#9 Family Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing