We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”
Review of Kathmandu Kitchen

Kathmandu Kitchen
Ranked #181 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We decided to take a chance going to Kathmandu as we enjoy Indian and Thai but had never seen a Nepalese restaurant before. Wow! Anyone who enjoys eastern food or wants to try it will enjoy this Cafe. The prayer flags on the ceiling do not suggest what you need to do to enjoy a meal here. We absolutely enjoyed out experience here, so much in fact we returned the next night and did it all again with a variation or two. Everything is scratch made - even the Papadums. The Naan, and all breads in fact, are wonderful and served hot. The masala dishes are beyond description. Kormas were unique and equally wonderful.
The dishes are flavorful with emphasis on flavor. Spiciness doesn't necessarily mean HOT. If you are wanting to explore the many pleasures of indian food but are afraid of getting something too hot, this is the place to go. The staff is informed and extremely helpful and patient. Go and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHIguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    66
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food was wonderful and the service was great! If you have eaten authentic Himalayan food before, feel free to let the staff know, as some of the dishes are slightly "Americanized," adding cilantro and what-not.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleet_Parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“You don't to venture to Nepal for a great meal!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We visited Kathmandu on a busy Saturday night. The service was excellent. Don't expect tablecloth covered tables her, the decor is on the walls and in the food.They had a great selection of wines that went well with the nicely spiced dinners. My husband tried a lamb dish, and I had their non-vegetarian sampler, that came with freshly made Nan bread. Yum! We will definitely return

Helpful?
1 Thank steelpanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our waitress was extremely nice. She took time to explain the foods to us and gave us some excellent recommendations. We were very happy with her suggestions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank X61624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good variety, flavor and value for $”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We recently tried the lunch buffet and were pleased with the choices offered. They offered dishes you do not normally see. The fried onions and the carrot pudding were delicious. Other downtown restaurants had 15 to 30 minute waits, here we were seated immediately .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Kathmandu Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing