We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoji Spa”
Review of Shoji Spa & Lodge

Shoji Spa & Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Asheville's only private outdoor hot tub spa. A Japanese style hot tub retreat nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and overlooking the Blue Ridge Parkway yet only 8 minutes east of downtown Asheville. Experience breathtaking views, the cedar sauna and invigorating cold plunge, luxury showers with Japanese shampoo, conditioner & body products. We supply everything you need including your robe, sandals, and towels. We offer private outdoor hot tubs, massages, yoga, spa packages, seasonal specials and even overnight lodging. Refresh your body and renew your spirit at Shoji's earthy sanctuary.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shoji Spa”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Over-rated and WAY Over-priced, Employees were very nice and helpful.. Bring a bottled water and a deep wallet with you, if you must go. You can get a much better view from the jacuzzi's on your cabin patio or in your hotel room.. Nothing overly Spectacular about this place.. Granted, I did not opt to take advantage of a massage, that may or may not have made a difference but I doubt it...Been to other spa's just not impressed by this one at all... :( Save your money and Visit the Biltmore house instead..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bigmthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    43
    17
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a nice respite....but could be improved”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It was kind of fun driving up the broken hilly road to find this place, set in the wooded hills near the Blue Ridge Parkway. Very relaxing in private hot tubs (each in own hut) with an open side to trees. (Hot tubs would be improved with hand rail for ease/safety) Massage was good enough (but not excellent) for this weary tourist. Downsides: very tiny locker room--1 bathroom so you have to wait your turn to pee. BYOW (bring your own water) Only 1 little water fountain in entryway with tiny paper cups : none in locker room, none in hot tub area (I had to walk up hill and purchase a bottle). I found it strange that water was not everywhere given need to hydrate when using hot tub---I have never been to a spa that didn't have water. A bit steep walking down path to tubs; could use rustic handrails on one side for safety.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cvcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but wonderful for a special occasion!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Shoji in the Studio and also had the "Best Buddha's Couple Package" for our 10th anniversary. The studio was quite clean, comfortable, and spacious in the living room. The bedroom is at the roof so the walls are slanted, but as this was clearly stated on the website we weren't surprised; we actually loved the coziness of it! The view was also spectacular!

As for the spa package, we loved the atmosphere of and view from the outdoor hot tub. It was very reminiscent of our onsen experiences in Japan, with an American flavor. I can't say enough how wonderful the massage was! The specialists were both professional and very skilled, the atmosphere was very conducive to meditation and relaxation, and my husband and I left feeling thoroughly refreshed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
487 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Expensive...but a great experience for a splurge!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a great romantic outing for a special occasion when you don't mind spending a little extra. We got a special that included an hour in the hot tub and sauna and cold plunge pool. We were advised to alternate 15 minutes in the sauna and hot tub, then sauna and hot tub. In February it was much too cold to do the cold plunge. The sauna is communal and everyone wears a robe. The hot tub is private and you and your partner can enjoy a nude soak. Then we had an 80 minutes couple massage. The price included only a Swedish massage and it was $45 extra each for deep tissue massage. We paid $350 plus tips for the experience and it was a relaxing romantic time. But the hot tub/sauna is generally $42 per person for an hour and the couples massage was substantially higher priced than most massage therapists charge. Overall, a fun but expensive experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Came to Shoji at the recommendation of a friend. Such a lovely place! Beautifully tucked into the Smoky Mountains. Hot tub, cold dip, and sauna felt great! Will definitely be back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faunista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoji Spa & Lodge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Shoji Spa & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing