We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and totally worth it”
Review of LaZoom

LaZoom
Ranked #1 of 32 Food & Drink in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The unforgettable LaZoom Tour experience, from start to finish, is uniquely fun and immersive. Our City Comedy Tours blend fast paced facts, original comedy and sharp improv. Each tour is an exciting and educational interaction between tour guides on and off the bus, the audience, and people on the street. LaZoom Comedy Tours are, by far, the best, most entertaining way to see and get to know Asheville, whether you’re a visitor or a local! Check out our Haunted Comedy Tour and Band and Beer Tour as well!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Tega Cay, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fun and totally worth it”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

General: My husband and I had a blast on this tour. It's about 2 hours long, and the bus was packed pretty tight with people so prepare to get cozy with a few strangers. The bus stops about halfway through the tour for a bathroom break. There are different comedic guides, probably depending on time and day. Anyone of age is allowed to bring a closed alcoholic beverage if they wish, with bottle opener provided.

Pros: Our guide Augusta Wind was hilarious, sharp, and kept the entertainment and information going the whole trip. She is the witty, tactless southern aunt I wish I had. Never a dull moment, and everyone from the front to the back of the bus was laughing, and occasionally included in some good-natured ribbing. If you love southern "charm" and crude (but not too offensive) humor, you will love her, and this tour. Bonus surprise in store if it's your birthday!

There are some, shall we say, supporting characters that you will run into along the way, as the bus pauses in a few locations for more in-depth "learning".

Cons: The halfway break was only 10 minutes, which felt a little short. The bus parked behind a bar downtown, where we were told to head if we needed to use the restroom. It had just 2 stalls each for men and women, which on a busy Saturday afternoon made for a bit of a line. The bar itself was also pretty packed. More than just a restroom break, we were encouraged to grab a closed container drink from the bar to bring on the bus if we wished. Many fellow passengers were unable to both take a wiz and grab a brew, due to time constraints. My husband and I were only able to do so with him staying lined up at the bar and ordering for us both while I took care of business.

The tour is more of a moving comedy show than a classroom dynamic. Yes, it is a tour, and you will learn a bit about Asheville's history, just don't expect to be raising your hand and asking a bunch of questions. In fact, the guide may very well call on YOU once or twice with a bit of trivia. This is only a con if you expect differently, which at least one past reviewer seemed to.

Summary: Overall, it'd be hard to find a way to spend a couple hours in Asheville that is equally as entertaining in several ways. Unless you are particularly sensitive, sheltered, religious or otherwise uptight, just do it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazoom, Guest Relations Manager at LaZoom, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Melody, many thanks for the thoughtful and, we think, accurate review! And it's true: sometimes The Thirsty Monk--a deservedly popular beer emporium--is exceptionally crowded, which is impossible for our guides to gauge. However, I do hope Augusta pointed out a couple of alternatives right there (and readers of this can now bear this info in mind): restrooms are also available at the Firestorm Cafe (pretty much next door to the Monk) and at the Weinhaus (also almost next door, but around the corner on Patton Avenue). Firestorm is also good for snacks and coffee (but fancy coffee drinks take too long) and Weinhaus (also a great cheese store) also has beer to go. (Hey--can we help it if downtown Asheville's really hoppin' these days?) Again, our many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,667
    187
    41
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun but could do better”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The ride was comfortable enough and the open air was refreshing. The humor and information/education was fair-to-midland I was expecting a more interactive comedic outing but it was more like a 1 man show, though he was talented and entertaining. Perhaps instead of singing during "down times" the tour might encourage interaction between guests. Maybe a min-scavenger hunt or something, anything to encourage getting to laugh WITH those around you; not just AT the host(s).

BUT, that being said, we did have fun but avoid the Thirsty Monk, or whatever it's called, if you want a beer in the 10 min break. Service was practically non-existent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BecAndCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazoom, Guest Relations Manager at LaZoom, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Grateful for the detailed response. Always working on improving the show and will pass along your useful comments. As for the Monk, it's a great place but, especially depending on time of day, can get pretty crazy busy. Upstairs usually has a couple of bartenders on duty, so occasionally one can get faster service there. Just a couple doors down, the Weinhaus does a good job, too...and it ain't just wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dlm_Racine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Entertaining!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

What a great way to be entertained and get a feel for Asheville! Highly recommend it. Found out about the history of the town and was introduced to some restaurants we wouldn't have know about. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Dlm_Racine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazoom, Guest Relations Manager at LaZoom, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many, many thanks! Glad some of our suggestions worked for you. We love this town and the people who make it so special. Always more than happy to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My face still hurts from laughing”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We took our third tour, this time with a newbie, and we roared. A great way to see Asheville and enjoy a very adult and irreverent experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazoom, Guest Relations Manager at LaZoom, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Now this is the kind of pain we like! And we're so glad you like the new talent. It's amazing how many gifted people work with us. We couldn't be more pleased or proud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burma Camp, Volta, Ghana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LaZoom”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was OVERLY impressed with the LaZoom Halloween tour with host Ghoulish Gary. My wife and I laughed so hard! They were very professional, organized, talented and well thought out. Anyone who gets a chance to visit Asheville must not miss this. We plan on visiting all the different tours they have to offer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john_Pipes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazoom, Guest Relations Manager at LaZoom, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
This is so what we love to hear! Thank you thank you thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaZoom also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to LaZoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing