We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice campground in spite of a few little drawbacks.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campfire Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campfire Lodgings
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice campground in spite of a few little drawbacks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We tend to shy away from private campgrounds but this one had good ratings so we gave it a try. Glad we did. The staff is so nice and always ready to help. Stormy told us about Big Foot hikes at night and other activities they can do if you call ahead! Great yurts and the premium RV sites are out of this world. They overlook the ridge and are breathtaking. The only two drawbacks were the small sites with little privacy and the interstate noise in the distance. I'm very sensitive to noise and I have to say that did bother me but then the leaves weren't on the trees to buffer it and you are close to Asheville so it's to be expected. I just turned our fan on for white noise at night. It's not "loud" by any means, but it is there. I'd recommended this place to anyone wanting to experience Asheville. Very nice time indeed!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nofitpitchinkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
55
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Campfire lodgings has it all - incredible views, fantastic grounds, terrific staff. We will be back!!!! One word of advice - if you arrive early call the office to avoid encountering another rig on the road. The winding road up to the camp ground does not accommodate 2 rigs passing.

Rick and Judith

Room Tip: The premium spots have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLANAVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great views, clean facilities, helpful staff...but 9 months later, I am STILL dealing with a serious stink bug infestation...the trailer looks like a temple of doom and the truck is not much better after months of trying MANY methods of stink bug removal! Rent a rig, stay in a cabin or tent...but whatever you do, DO NOT take your RV there, or to the east coast in general, the blue ridge mts in particular...you will come home with 10,000 invaders of the lost ark...and find yourself crying, pulling your hair out and contemplating trading in your rig, just to get rid of the stinkers!!! Consider yourself warned...the bugs were hiding in towels, personal items, clothes, TP, teabags, every pot and pan, food items and utensils, under the mattress, crawling across our face while we slept, inside unopened boxes, around the frig door seal, all over the sofa, in the shower, under all the cabinets, in the hair dryer, over the headboard, and in every crack and crevice of the truck cab and bed...in the 1000's...where didn't we find them???! Even with careful washing of trailer items, the bugs still made it inside the house after the trip. And, after we left the area, we spent 4-6 hours every day trying to remove them from the truck and trailer, for 2.5 weeks straight. Then another 3 weeks at 1-2 hours a day...before returning home. Now after the winter, we will have to spend about 2-3 days debugging before we start out for the new season as they continue to crawl out of the truck glove box and cover the floors, walls, shower and counters of the trailer. I picked up about 300 dead ones today and saw 5-8 live ones that eluded my reach....so that means there are many more that will come out during the warmer months. Although it's gorgeous at Campfire Lodgings...in my opinion, it's probably not worth the very timely hassle of dealing with the stink bugs if you visit in your own RV. Rent somebody else's or stay in a cabin!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

All in all this was a great choice. The campground is relatively small and shares spectacular views. The entrance road up to the camp can be a little tricky as it is unpaved and contains a few turns. However, this is expected as you are rising up in elevation. The staff was extremely informative, friendly and accommodating. They even made a point to come and introduce themselves and make sure you knew who/where to go for assistance.

Great location and within 15 minutes to downtown Ashville. Groceries and Walmart within 5 miles both directions. I stayed on site 4 and had no complaints. Sites 1-6 share the most impressive views. 1 and 2 are close to the entrance and office, but not a major issue as your attention is focused the opposite direction.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Assuming you are staying for the views, sites 1-6 are the best. However, others are just as nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We loved everything about Campfire Lodgings: the view, the people, the trails, the RV sites. We loved the approach up the mountain road and hiked the the trails with our two dogs. The showers were nice and hot, the laundry clean and efficient, and the staff very helpful. The sunrise and sunset were spectacular. My husband and I stayed three nights in an RV, and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were planning to visit this summer (five months from now) and made a reservation however 36 hours later realized we could not go that month and needed to cancel and rebook once we got our plans together. They charge a $25 fee to cancel even 5 months in advance. It’s not like they can't rent the spot to someone else or that we did a cancelation within 30 days. I was told they change the $25 as a processing fee because it takes so much work to do a credit card refund. I think it’s unfair but that's their rule. The place may be the greatest place to camp or whatever but where is their hospitality? From reading the other reviews, I am not the only person who questions this.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
I read your compaint and would like a chance to speak with you so i can adjust the cancellation fee. I have been away and if the reservation was that far in the future, you are correct. Sorry for the bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family and I stayed there Christmas Day evening. We made our reservation late so we were not able to get a P site. When I realized what a magnificent view that side of the camp ground had had I was so disappointed that we did not book earlier. Nevertheless we had a great stay. The camp ground was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back for a P site camping experience. Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#6 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campfire Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campfire Lodgings

Property: Campfire Lodgings
Address: 116 Appalachian Village Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-9636
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains with panoramic views, 4-5 miles of hiking trails and a "catch and release" fishing pond. Come experience the peacefulness and calm of nature on top of Goldview Knob while being in such close proximity to downtown Asheville, whitewater rafting, horseback riding, waterfalls, and the Biltmore Estates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campfire Lodgings Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing