We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our yurt”
Review of Campfire Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campfire Lodgings
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our yurt”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in Yurt 3. The location is perfect, nestled in the trees with a nice porch / balcony. The views of the mountains and river from the top of the property are great. Checked in after hours - checking out was a breeze. We didn't really see but a handful of people while we were there and didn't need anything from the staff as our Yurt was perfect accommodations for us. It wasn't 5-star, but staying in a yurt in the woods never is - had to clean up a few bugs and catch a giant spider - but no problems. I really liked the thermostatically controlled gas-fired fireplace.

Room Tip: Yurt 3 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    34
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
59
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First, let me say that the view is beautiful for the all P locations, but P1 (where we ended up by booking online) which is right by the office, the entrance and view is largely blocked by the trees and shrubs.
The grounds were well kept, but the bathrooms were pretty warn and not that clean.
The kindness of the two gentlemen that came by our site could not make up for the woman in the office. Three people in our party tried to reason with her and just came out shaking our heads. You just expect a smile and someone to take just a minute to talk to you when you arrive at a campground.
I'd say, if you can put up with a bit of crankiness, this is a nice place.

Room Tip: Choose P 3, 4, 5, or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KandAGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
P-1 is a lovely site and requested by many of our guests.
Our bathroom's are cleaned 2 x's daily because we can't be in there 24/7. Apparently the reviewer was in the bathroom just before a cleaning. This is a very nicely kept campground and individual bathrooms are kept clean. This is not an office building.
After the 3rd complaint regarding P-1, and now, after the 2nd review by the same people, it is increasingly more difficult to not be a bit cranky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Came early on Friday to get one of the great sites with a view. When we walked in the office, the woman at the desk was too busy folding t-shirts to greet us. When we gave her the paper work showing her we had reserved a spot 2 months ago and would like to pull into P-5, a beautiful empty site. We were told that that site was reserved. So we asked for another site. We were told that that site was also reserved. We were told our site was the one right by the office and if we didn't want it she would give us our money back. We were not happy, but decided to make the best of it since we were going into town a lot anyway. To make a long story short, the site was very noisy and no one ever came into site P5 while we were there. I can only assume that she had decided she was putting us where she wanted us and she really did not care if anyone showed up for P5 or not. Good location and some great views, but customer service training is greatly needed to say the least! No southern welcome here.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay at Campfire, do not book online. Call and request your site. P1 is the worst s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
The reviewer did not understand that this campground honors previous reservation, especially if all nights reserved, were already paid in full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back after 3 nights and 4 days at CL. Had a premium site with a view that was mezzmerizing! Great staff...Andi, Stormy and Jason. Well maintained grounds. Close to Asheville area attractions, but removed enough from civilization to totally relax. We're going back next month to soak in the fall colors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved this campground. Nice sites, especially the premium sites. The premium sites have million dollar views, however, if you don't score one of these sites you can enjoy the view at the camp's communal viewing area. Here, they have thoughtfully placed some benches and Adirondack chairs. We spent our evenings here sipping wine and watching the sun set behind the mountains. We stayed on site D9 which is next to a premium site and had partial views. The bathrooms were individual which was nice and they were adequately clean. The staff was extremely professional and friendly. We were told by friends to go into downtown Asheville for dinner, but we simply did not want to leave our camp. Steak on the grill after watching a glorious sunset beats going into town any day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xploretheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at Campfire Lodging in September for a week. We were not able to get a Premium campsite as they book up quickly. The Premium campsites are small but have amazing views. The downside is that they offer no shade. However, in the D sites, you are in a shaded area and surrounded by woods. For those who are not able to secure a Premium spot or even for those to wish to partake of it, there is a very short walk to a small outdoors area with an amazing view of the mountains and water. There is limited seating but you can bring a few folding chairs to sit and take in the sunset. The RV's and pop up spots are separate from the tent camping and Yurts which are like a little bungalow surrounded by woodsy views. They are large sites with decks. There is a trail leading to a stocked catch and release pond. The gift shop offers camping amenities, ice, propane gas refills and firewood for sale. There are 4 bathrooms (single use - unisex), one of which is handicapped. There is also a laundry area with a coin operated washer and dryer. The best times for showering is right after they are cleaned which is around 12:30 everyday. Jason who works there will deliver a bucket of firewood to your site for around 6/7$. Ice is $4 a bag. There is a place for bike riding and jogging as the road is well maintained. Ande who works at the reservations and office management is great! There is a grocery store (Ingles) and a Citgo nearby. The Biltmore is only a 15 minute drive from the campsite. In Weaverville (nearby city), there are a number of restaurants as well. The mosquito's are not bad here at all. I would recommend this campsite. It offers a relaxing environment good for families or singles. Quiet time starts at 10pm. We felt like we did not compromise what we wanted to do at all. A great place to stay! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RoanokeBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

rude rude rude! never in my LIFE of traveling have i had to deal with such a negative, uncaring, money hungry, selfish person!
before i booked a yurt i called and told them i needed one with a bathroom because i had a small child potty training. i told them i also had a 12 year old with us and would that be a problem.
i always ask questions before i book and pay any money.
i was told over the phone by a man named stormy that it would be no problem at all and that there was a blow up bed for the older child to sleep on. this worked great so i booked the place.
HOWEVER once i got there i was told stormy had given me some misinformation and that blow up beds arent allowed in yurts that have bathrooms for some reason.
so i sucked it up and took the yurt that had NO BATHROOM.
the very nice and helpful groundskeeper (jason) assured me that when the owner ANDE came in she would reimburse me the money. this is not what happened.
first, when we got to the new yurt, i realized not only was there no toilet, there was no sink! no running water of any kind! the faucet outside was locked and "broken"...in fact the only water i saw was the lake of water in the floor running out of the air conditioner.
the place was filthy, had obviously not been cleaned....there was a wine glass with wine still in it sitting on the counter!!
three days later i called to speak to ande about my reimbursement - she told me there was no way in hell i was getting any money back! even though i paid extra for a yurt with a bathroom and got kicked out!
what kind of business are these people trying to run???

Room Tip: be very careful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank minkalodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
To try to respond to this by saying anything other than, there are always 3 sides to a story, theirs, ours, and the truth, would be senseless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campfire Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campfire Lodgings

Property: Campfire Lodgings
Address: 116 Appalachian Village Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-9636
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains with panoramic views, 4-5 miles of hiking trails and a "catch and release" fishing pond. Come experience the peacefulness and calm of nature on top of Goldview Knob while being in such close proximity to downtown Asheville, whitewater rafting, horseback riding, waterfalls, and the Biltmore Estates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campfire Lodgings Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing