We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marco's Pizzeria

Marco's Pizzeria
Ranked #324 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Marco's Pizzeria continues the family business started in 1933 of cooking unparalleled New York-style pizza in two locations in Asheville, North Carolina. Marco's Great Uncle Patsy started the family's first pizzeria when he expanded the offerings of his ice cream parlor to include the uniquely New York-Italian dish. Patsy's Pizzeria in Harlem originally used a coal-fired oven to create a crust that is thin and crisp on the outside. Today, the fourth generation of pizza-makers in Marco's family continues to use Patsy's recipe and methods to create a dish that is unlike anything else available outside New York.
Weaverville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went with my daughter for the first time (first time for me). Great pizza! I had the Hawaiian pizza and was very impressed. A little expensive for pizza but very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angeline1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Candler
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

When I want pizza this is my favorite place. The cheese is the best. It is simply mozzarella, tomato sauce and basil. Thin crust too. I am hungry just thinking about it. The entire staff treats you like family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandJAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“greasy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The pizza was so greasy.....yuck....couldn't even finish a slice. Crust not so hot either, and I don;t mean temperature,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wonderful food! Love the pizza and salad. Popular for families so try and hit it during the off times to avoid a wait for a table.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, VT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza I have ever had outside of NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visited Marco's while passing through Asheville in March. Being a born and raised New Yorker my expectations are very high. Marco's exceeded all of them. I ordered a Sausage and Meatball Pizza that was truly some of the best pizza I have ever had. The crust was incredible as was the fresh mozzarella and basil. You can't go wrong if your looking for good pizza at a fair price. I will definitely be back whenever I pass through!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco's Pizzeria also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Marco's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing