We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More great food than you can eat in one sitting”
Review of Luella's Bar-B-Que

Luella's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #46 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Asheville
1 review
“More great food than you can eat in one sitting”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is not my first visit and I am never disappointed. Food and service are great. I feel comfortable bringing my young granddaughters there too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    258
    75
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dadeville, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Take Out Heaven”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were tired from being tourists in Asheville, so bought some take out at Louellas - man was it totally worth the drive! Got a rack of ribs and some brisket with sides of greens, okra, fries and slaw. It was as good as it gets! We can't talk to the service, except for the fact that the meals were packaged right away and served to us with a big Thank you and Come Back! Definitely would go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abclsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Makes me hungry to think about”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I travel with two small kids, 7 & 9, I need ketchup on the table, crayons, and speedy service. Sure, I bet 12 bones would be good, but I need my 9 year old to eat NOW. This is our 3d trip to Luella's and golly, she's never let us down! Am still thinking about the grits with jalepenos. And my pulled pork? I'm swooning. Went Sunday afternoon and sat next to the live musical act and though, golly, if we lived in Asheville I'd weight 500 pounds because I'd eat hushpuppies here everyday. Great place for kids, and solid choice for barbecue.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Furcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfort food!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A half pound if bbq with three hush puppies and two sides plus iced tea. $12. Bit pricey but very good. Smokey flavor, crispy hot fried okra, mixture of beans, nice folks. A great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Awesome BBQ and Sides”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I work close to here and I love splurging and getting myself some BBQ and there awesome sides. Try the Mac & Cheese. The waitstaff is super friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luella's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Luella's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing