We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible Thai food loaded with MSG”
Review of Thai Cuisine Express - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Cuisine Express
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
asheville
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible Thai food loaded with MSG”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I tried Thai cuisine Express a few years ago but did not like it at all. Recently a friend of mine asked me to come with her while we were in the neighborhood, so I thought I might try it a gain.
The spring roll was fried frozen, then refried again to serve you, the skin was so thick and oil absorbent, the filling was super sweet with MSG, I tried a curry dish and my friend had a
a Pad Thai. My curry was tasty of MSG, there is no depth of a real Thai curry, there is no typical spices as ginger, galangang in a Thai curry. My friend's Pad thai was really overcooked that the noddle was sticky, may be with the exaggerated sweet sauce.

If this is a fast food, the bad quality of food is expected, what I do not expect was the prices, the owner charges every dishes as much as any nice, beautiful ambience Thai restaurant in town. So why go to him to hae bad food, expensive pricing, and ugly ambience?

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moonn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Thai? Got to try Thai Cuisine Express”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Ok ... so it does not look like much...It does look, authenthic! The food and service, excellent! If you know Thai, the try Thai Express, you will not be disapointed, on your decision. The apperance, is worn, and not with alot of seats for stay to eat. This place is more of a take out kind of place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCsleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai Food in Asheville”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This place is by no means tourist based. I've been coming here for 5 years and I get a warm welcome the minute I walk in. I feel like I'm part of the family. Every dish is cooked made to order, on the spot. I'm vegan, which makes it hard to eat out, but it's no problem here. The food is always fresh, made with seasonal veggies that are bought locally. I eat at Thai Cuisine Express almost every week and am always more than satisfied. The food and the service is ALWAYS great. I love that it's totally local and sooooo affordable. The portions are HUGE for less than $10. Always enough for left-overs the next day. Very authentic and very friendly!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lolavee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Funny, the review before this says this is typical tourist Thai food. This place screams anything but typical tourist. It is more like a mom & pop Thai place. Located next to a pawn shop, shoddy decorations, and grandpa sitting in the back doesn't really scream tourist locale to me. They have the best Hot & Sour Soup ever. My favorite item to get is the spicy beef salad, however almost everything we have ordered from here has been great. Only complaint is that sometimes the dishes are too "saucy", so even with them wrapping the to go boxes it can still get a little messy - just a warning before you go unpacking your to go bag! (And seating is limited so you'll probably be getting it to go)

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, nc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Forget it”
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This place is very near my home, so I really wanted it to be good. Now mind you, after 30 years in California I know Asian food pretty well. This was the commercial "made for tourists", out of a bottle, variety of Asian. I ordered a Thai dish (red curry) which was the worst rendition of it I've every had as well as about the most expensive. So, find another Thai place in Asheville.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lotuspetal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cuisine Express also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing