We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good service”
Review of Havana Restaurant - CLOSED

Havana Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch the other day. Had a dish called Lechon which was around $10. It came out quickly and tasted very good - though a little under spiced. Waitress was attentive and refilled our drinks without asking. Ambiance was very laid back but I'm not there to admire the decor. I'll eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaming_Fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol TN
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“More Than Cuban and Good”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went expecting to get a cuban sandwich. We were greeted by the owner who recommended the special which was a Caesar Pasta with shrimp or chicken. We orderd one of each and are we glad we did. It was made with spaghetti tossed with their homemade caesar dressing, sauteed romaine, lots of garlic, olive oil, and cheese. Served with puffy tortilla wedges and black beans. We left very full. Owner and waitress were both very friendly and a pleasure to talk to. It's right in the heart of things but a little hard to see. It's at the far end of the Grove Arcade. Make an effort to find it - it is well worth it. Atmosphere is what you might expect in the islands which is very casual. Prices are also very good for the amount of food. This is our second time to this restaurant and not our last.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 30hotrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent and tasty.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast. Perfect spicy for our tastes! Fried plantains were excellent
Definitely stop here

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lamaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort Food!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and son and I went looking for a late lunch and found this little spot. It was quiet but homey. The waitress was lovely, and the food we ordered was GOOD. Rice and beans, pulled pork, just the right amount of spice. It's on our list of places to return to when we're back in town!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkRose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, drinks and service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

While visiting Asheville with friends they recommended this restaurant having tried it on their last visit. We were not disappointed. Went on a week night for dinner and had the place almost to ourselves. Service was quick a friendly. Margarita's were the special and they were fresh made and delicious, a nice compliment to our meal . We started with an order of queso that never quite firmed up as it cooled. The pressed Cuban sandwich, Lechon and the burrito were all delicious. It was a lot of food and for the price a great value. Seasonings were just right and the food not over salted. The location is a little off the main square and worth finding. Recommend for for dinner and the place is big enough to accommodate a group so bring your friends, hungry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WSA_IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing