We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean Heaven Dishes”
Review of Nine Mile

Nine Mile
Ranked #13 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Caribbean Heaven Dishes”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was at A restaurant called 9 Mile, in Asheville, NC today .. man .. I am serious what a great selection of dishes. This guy must be a culinary genius.. for real.. Ask anyone in a 200 mile radius...they know about his restaurants. 9 Mile Restaurant serves a lot of vegetarian dishes and dishes with chicken and fish. The theme seems to be keeping it natural with an organic Caribbean flare. Farm to table fresh vegetables. The salads are soooo fresh.. I got the jalapeneo Llime Cilantro dressing with my salad and Jamaican Me Thirsty and they were off the chart.. If you are in Asheville or planning to go to North Carolina .. go off the beaten path and stop in... I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nteract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    414
    66
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I'm from the Caribbean and thought this place had a great Caribbean flavor. Very fresh ingredients. Nice variety of dishes that will appeal to just about everyone in your party. Awesome beer selection. One of the best kept secrets, tucked back in a quaint neighborhood.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trini_Soca_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Asheville”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate at several of the top rated restaurants in Asheville this week. My husband and I agree Nine Mile probably served best meal in Asheville. The price is right, the food is fresh, and the service was impeccable. They had great beers on tap, and I feel in love with Noble cider. You have to put this restaurant on the priority list while you're in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmarie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Asheville”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We go to Asheville a lot, and we have four or five restaurants we tend to go to, even though there are a lot of restaurants there. I would say Nine Mile is probably our favorite. The food is always fresh, the portions are just right, and we've never had a bad meal here. This is one of the restaurants we like to take friends to, especially ones who think the only good restaurants in Asheville are downtown.

It's small and in an older building, but it's still a pleasant atmosphere with reggae music and Caribbean paintings on the wall. It looks more like a bar than a restaurant but, believe me, it's a darn good restaurant. We've already been there twice this year, once for lunch and once for dinner.

They have several fish dishes and veggie dishes for those non-meat eaters, as well.

It's a little out of the way, but well worth finding when you're in Asheville.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We eat here every time we visit Asheville. Never had a meal that was anything short of excellent. If we lived in Asheville we would be there at least once a week!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mile also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Nine Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing