We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informal and Different with Interesting Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nine Mile

Nine Mile
Ranked #10 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informal and Different with Interesting Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had salads (very large) with cheese and meat, which were excellent. We enjoyed people-watching there in a the laid-back atmosphere. It was crowded and busy the night we ate there (a Thursday), and service was therefore a bit slow, but we enjoyed ourselves. I noticed it was family friendly. I would definitely go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    400
    62
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cannot say enough great great things about this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great food, staff & atmosphere. Very child friendly, which is hard to find these days. These people have an amazing thing going! We will definitely be back!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MountainGirl828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good food, great service and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Nine Mile on a recent trip to the Asheville area. Our waitress was incredibly friendly and gave us good advice on the "heat" to order for the dishes. Bottom line is med-mild was still quite hot so I wouldn't do more than that. My husband had a special which was a green curry chicken dish with noodles -- it was delicious. I had the "pressure drop" which was chicken with a coconut lime cream sauce (I asked for more since it was just drizzled). It was also very good. We were informed to come early (before 7PM) if we didn't want to wait and that was good advice. We were sorry that we weren't able to get back for another meal before the end or our trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mainly locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very busy on a Wednesday evening. Some people chose to have the food as takeout but we choose to sample some local beers while waiting for the food. If you want the special of the day, arrive early, as it was gone by the evening. I like very spicy food and the waitress asked for the level of heat. Parking is difficult due to the residential area. A local musician arrived later in the evening and most people appreciated his performance. It was a nice evening with good food. Definitely would go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Selection wasn't great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I wasn't too impressed with this place, the food was so so and I didn't like the menu selection. Maybe its just my tastes, but I was under impressed. The staff was really nice though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mile also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Nine Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing