We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot”

Thirsty Monk Pub & Brewery
Ranked #125 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Serving Asheville's most extensive selection of the finest beers... 36 Beers on tap, over 150 bottles.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool spot”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place was near our hotel and we stopped in for a beer. So many great beers on the list. We had a cheese tray and a drink watching the streets of Ashehville out the front open air window. A really neat place with lots to offer a traveler.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    130
    46
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Belgian Beer Bar”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

In our never ending quest for the perfect glass of beer (and pretzels) we make it a point to seek out exceptional beer bars. After visiting the Thirsty Monk we get to check another one off of the list! We are impressed with the selection of beers on tap upstairs in the main bar, and thrilled with the offerings in the Belgian bar downstairs also. It's Allagash (a personal favorite) night, we order the "Black" and get to keep the nifty glasses for our collection. The pretzels and Fat Tire beer cheese dip are outstanding as far as taste and portion size.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TandemBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK but not excellent”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Truthfully, it is a pretty good spot but compared to the Southwest US, home of craft beers, it can be kind of lame. They're really impressed with themselves and their selection and it show. They're minor league compared to most AZ and CO craft beer spots but for the South, I think, they're pretty good. I must say, however, who wants to pay $6 for an average pour?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barenakedcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pint of bacon???”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was super hot when we walked into this bar so we ended up in the bar in the basement which features Belgian style beers. I was happy to see a Belgian dubbel on tap and it was yummy. We were a little hungry so we ordered the "pint of bacon" and fries, also very yummy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephOst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
237 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Bacon beer snacks!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Can I just tell you how much I love this place? Stumbled in while walking around on a first visit to Asheville in April 2013. Found the downstairs bar and set up camp. You can order a glass of cooked bacon strips - served like breadsticks - to go along with their overwhelmingly awesome selection of fine beers - including many Belgian ales, bottled and on tap. But fear not, good readers - the knowledgeable and personable bar staff will steer you to many choices to suit your palette and your budget. Take note that the beer selection upstairs is different than downstairs, so feel free to browse both menus (or do so ahead of time online). I enjoyed several bottles of Duchesse de Bourgogne - a sour, Belgian-style red ale. Oh Duchesse, I love you so. Especially served with crispy bacon snacks. The downstairs feels like a Belgian cave (but not too dark - just cozy and atmospheric). Characters abound to drink with and enjoy. See you soon, Thirsty Monk.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Monk Pub & Brewery also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Thirsty Monk Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing