We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignored by bartender!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thirsty Monk Pub & Brewery

Thirsty Monk Pub & Brewery
Ranked #132 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Serving Asheville's most extensive selection of the finest beers... 36 Beers on tap, over 150 bottles.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ignored by bartender!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and i sought out the Thirsty Monk during Asheville's famous Beer Week. We went to the downstairs tasting room and took a seat at the bar. The young bearded bartender (you know who you are!) proceeded to stand 2 feet in front of us and act like we weren't there. He was busy chatting with his buddy standing next to us. After 5 minutes of being totally IGNORED, we stood up and left.

We were more than happy to go back to the FABULOUS Lexington Avenue Brewery and spend our money among friendly people and waitstaff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    129
    45
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Beer Lovers Dream Come True!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stopped in this place while in downtown Asheville to try out some nice micro brews on tap. The selection was amazing! Laid back atmosphere with full or half pours available. We did several half pours of some great beer and cider. Didn't try any of the food because we had just eaten but what I seen leaving the kitchen looked tasty. Can't wait to visit again next time in Asheville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,287 reviews
511 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Extensive Selection, great bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My evening was winding down, but I had to check out the Thirsty Monk. This bar is a MUST stop if you like Belgian beers. I ventured downstairs and picked out something that sounded good from the menu. The beer menu that is. I have never seen so many Belgian beers available in a bar before.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Over-the-top food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We happened to stop in to the Thirsty Monk for a beer on our way back to the hotel to decide where to go for dinner. While talking to the bartender (who was delightful) we heard about a coffee-rubbed quesadilla special they were running that night. While I do not typically go for bar food when on vacation, we decided to give it a try. It was off the charts! We also ordered their "Monk and cheese," an upscale mac & cheese, which was also worth a side trip to experience. We go to Asheville because of the great restaurants, so I can tell you that this is a real hidden gem in the area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Pub with good beer selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good beer selection. Only locally brewed beers on ground level and Belgian brews downstairs. Pub food is offered but I didn't try any.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Monk Pub & Brewery also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Thirsty Monk Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing