We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really a unique and memorable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House Market - CLOSED

Stone House Market
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really a unique and memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Just went here for our 5th anniversary and couldn't be happier we chose to come here. Friendly service, friendly guests, amazing and more than plentiful servings mark the true gem that Stone House Market is. If I lived in Asheville, I'd go there all the time.

Helpful?
Thank ClearwaterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    3
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

While we were intrigued with the concept of this restaurant, the actual meal was the weakest link in an otherwise enjoyable evening. The atmosphere is intimate and charming - a converted stone gas station in an out-of-the-way location, complete with restrooms out back. A husband and wife man the kitchen and front of the house respectively and both do an adequate job. But, with an abundant supply of fresh, local ingredients, the food here isn't as good as one might expect. My lamb chops were fine but not exceptional. And my husband's short ribs weren't very tender and lacked flavor However, the bottle of wine that we shared with our friends was good and reasonably priced. Also, we all agreed that the oyster appetzer was very good as was the night's dessert offering, an orange flavored bread pudding.

With so many extraordinary restaurants in Asheville, this is one that, while we'd love to offer our support, we can't recommend without hesitation. It's hit or miss.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AHappyTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small place, Big meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I were in Asheville North Carolina recently. We have had great experiences with trip advisor in the past and my wife found the Stone House Market rated fairly high so we thought we would try it out. It is an old gas station out in the middle of nowhere that has been turned into a small restaurant. It was small but quaint, a cozy little setting. This place is owned by a husband and wife. The wife,Deb, takes care of the service and the husband does the cooking. The menu was small but there was a good variety. My wife and I chose corn fritters as an appetizer. These were handmade, fried, and prepared very well. The salads were handmade and from a garden. We both ordered New York strip steak as our main course. It was prepared just as we had ordered and the taste was out of this world! We finished off our meal with bread pudding. This was by far the best bread pudding I have ever had! This is a must eat if you're ever in Asheville North Carolina!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sg1670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great find .....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Stone House Market is a bit off the beaten path but if you enjoy exploring the food and service is definitely worth It. We went there Saturday night with some friends and we all had excellent meals. I had the baby lamb chops for a main dish and it was quite good. The service was very good.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The quintessential undiscovered gem. Stone House Market is a short drive from outside Asheville, and as other reviews have noted, it's in a old, refurbished stone building that used to be a rural gas station. The setting and the building are a wonderful, but the real treat comes from the kitchen.

Stone House Market is a small place, run by the couple who own it, that seats maybe 30 people. So the menu is small, but it feels like every meal is special and made just for your party, and we never felt like anything was wanting from our selection. Oysters and chicken pate as appetizers, NY Strip, Salmon with orange sauce and homemade pasta, baked scallops wrapped in banana leaves with a tapioca and tangerine sauce were among our offerings.

If you're looking for a place to pop in for a quick bite of something, look some place else. But if you're looking for a really special place for a memorable evening, search this place out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone House Market also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing