We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulently Fabulous”
Review of Stone House Market - CLOSED

Stone House Market
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Succulently Fabulous”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fantabulous! I'm a over-hte-top foodie, loving Charlreston restuarants galore. Stone House Market ranks up there & beyond the 'acclaimed' in Charelston and elsewhere. Succulent short ribs with chipotle cherry sauce. Sides are fabulous, too. I don't mind paying if food is worth it, BUT here you don't even pay much for such incredible food. We even questioned about our bill, due to it being so incredibly low priced. Wow! We can't wait to go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susangrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    3
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floyd
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dined there on a Friday night as it had been highly recommended. The food was indeed fresh but the service was slow and the restaurant wasn't even full. The restaurant itself is a converted gas station so the restrooms were behind the building in the dark. Very strange. The menu had a lot of variety but was very limited. I'm not sure I'd go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathryne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outskirts of Asheville but worth the drive”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small family operation on Old Lescester Highway. Portions are very generous and you will want to finish them. Take a drive out of the downtown scene and you will not be disapointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Memorable and Romantic”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

About 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. It was definitely worth the trip. We had a very romantic and relaxing dinner. The food was delicious!! The husband is the Chef and the wife is everything else. This place is very intimate and quite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Hidden Jem”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had the most amazing meal.... Chef picks fresh things from the markets and then assembles them into the most amazing dishes ever. His wife is the only waitress and is full of personality and enjoyable to talk to. This place is very small.... but yet intimately wonderful. The drive is a little far but definitely worth it! Call them for directions as GPS takes you on the long way. Other reviewers said it was cold inside..... We were adventurous and tried it any way and to our expectation is was plenty warm. We had a amazing time and will definitely return next time we are in Asheville!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone House Market also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing