We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ichiban Japanese Restaurant

Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #247 of 758 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate at this restaurant for the first time last week. The food was very good. There were 4 in our party--each ordering something different. Everyone cleaned their plates. We will definitely go again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainview03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    19
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best sushi in south-east.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We live in Western NC, so we visit Asheville quite often. If you like sushi, this is the joint!
The ingredients are always fresh. Specials always amaze. The chefs are super friendly and entertaining.

The only down side is that over past couple of years the serving staff seems to be dropping the ball. We noticed that when the management hired few new servers, the service level has dropped a bit. Thankfully, after few times being seated in a new server section and being disappointed, now they let us choose which server's section we want to seat. We have a couple Indonesian servers that we know the service will be super polite and attentive.

Aside from sushi bar the restaurant has a big area with Hibachi grills, which are a great choice for families, or when you bring somebody with you that never seen this kind of performance before. They will be amazed and entertained will by the chefs.

Go there, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimTimmyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were in town and just wanted some hibachi. Found this place while walking around. The restaurant is a little tucked away, and the inside is a little dated and dark. The food was excellent. The cook was a delight and very funny. I did not have the sushi but the lady next to me did and it looked beautiful and she said it was great. Portions were good size. We would go again if in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kfo30090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEEN EATING HERE FOR YEARS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

what i love the most is how i am treated.......i moved to the uk over two years ago but everytime i visit home i go to ichuban and they always come and give me hugs/greetings........i really miss this place and the excellent food

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank steffunnymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington,ky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Confused”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The location is a little tucked away and hard to find. We arrived after the dinner rush and was promptly seated.Our order was taken .Appettizers and sushi were delivered with satisfaction .The tempuri was good and delish the sushi was good the chef came out and delivered an average show then the confution started I had order the chicken and steak but recieved steak,chicken,and shrimp no such option on the menu another family had order the shrimp the chef was confused and gave this to me and the person seated next to me.Our friend had ordered house wine and was told that the premium wine was served leading to our waitress disappearing for fiffteen minutes trying to decifer the issue which was never quite resolved.Might be better if we had arrived a rush tim?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lookinforfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing