We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and Delicious”

Asheville Farm To Table Tours
Ranked #15 of 41 Food & Drink in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Asheville Farm To Table Tours provides fun, memorable experiences for individuals, couples, groups, or the whole family! Enjoy a personable guided experience while you discover local farms near Asheville and across Western North Carolina. Tastings and lunch, personally prepared with ingredients from the farms you visit are also included in our tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed June 13, 2016

We had a wonderful day visiting 3 gorgeous Fairview farms on our tour. We saw flowers and veggies, tasted amazing cave-aged raw milk cows's cheese, and ended visiting the baby goats and chickens at Hickory Nut Gap. Lunch was delicious and I went home with complementary goodies from Ann, as well as all the fresh produce and cheese I bought on the tour. Highly recommended.

Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D S, Owner at Asheville Farm To Table Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the Fairview tour! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"east fork"
in 4 reviews
"vegetable tart"
in 3 reviews
"great adventure"
in 2 reviews
"asheville trip"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 3 reviews
"girls weekend"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"ann"
in 36 reviews
"van"
in 7 reviews
"farming"
in 4 reviews
"rabbits"
in 3 reviews
"highgate"
in 3 reviews
"flowers"
in 6 reviews
"techniques"
in 3 reviews
"facts"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

47 - 51 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2016

We were treated to three very different farms in Madison County where the owners shared their passion for the work, provided insights on how their farm operates, introduced us to the animals, and offered samples for tasting and purchase. The tour was capped off with a delicious lunch of locally grown ingredients prepared by Sebastian at Farm to Table. Ann is a great guide, who is knowledgeable and very well organized.

Thank ddoanbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D S, Owner at Asheville Farm To Table Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed the tour and really appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016

Ann is the perfect guide to a full-filled day. We visited three beautiful farms and enjoyed a fabulous feast at the end of our journey. This is a tour you will not want to miss!

Thank RandyAvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D S, Owner at Asheville Farm To Table Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

We are so glad you had fun and I enjoyed having you as a guest! Thanks for spreading the word about this special experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

Had a great time visiting a small ranch farm, a goat farm cheese creamery, and a homesteaded farm where we had a delicious meal prepared from all local veggies, meats, and cheeses. Family visitors plan to do this tour when they arrive this summer.

1  Thank RBWard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

What a unique experience! There were 10 of us and we were warmly greeted by Ann in a convenient parking lot at 10am to board her very nice van. After introductions and an overview of what was ahead, we were off toward our first stop at the Madison County Visitors Center. It was a quick stop, with time to gather info about other opportunities for fun in the area, and also an all important potty break. Then we traveled to East Fork Farm. Such a beautiful drive thru the countryside of Madison County which is easy to see fits the tag, "Jewel of the Blue Ridge". Famer Dawn toured us through each area of their working farm giving us facts about their day to day operations as we walked through to view chickens, turkeys, rabbits, sheep and got to see the inside of a working grist mill. Great place to pick up fresh eggs and lamb chops. Many other products available in their cute little farm store.

Our next stop was Spinning Spider Creamery, an interesting goat cheese making facility on a small family farm. Small but mighty as we found out the Biltmore Estate and many area restaurants are their biggest clients as well as setting up for locals at several farmer’s markets. Cullen and his mother Chris walked us through the cheese making process and we peeked in on their concise operation. Here we were able to pet a few baby goats and enjoy seeing them in the tidy barn area. “So cute!” Everyone bought cheese in their store as we had already tasted their cheeses and couldn’t wait to nibble again!

Back on the van and off to Farmer’s Hands for lunch. Sebastian, a young professional Chef from Holland and New York, and his wife are homesteading at a beautiful turn of the century farm and have put lots of love into it with picture perfect grounds featuring a hoop house, raised vegetable beds, impeccable flower garden and restored farmhouse. They also have chickens, ducks & rabbits that Sebastian incorporates in his promoted monthly Farm to Table dinners. He prepared a delicious lunch for us in his kitchen that included ingredients from each of the farms we visited including turkey, greens, herbs, goat cheeses & eggs. Some of us ate at his kitchen table and some out on a table under a tree in the front yard. Any photographer could shoot in any direction and have the backdrop for a magazine worthy photo! What a enjoyable day………an experience not to be missed.
Brenda

1  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D S, Owner at Asheville Farm To Table Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Brenda W,

We really appreciate your great review of Asheville Farm to Table Tours! We hope you can join us on a tour of three different farms in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asheville Farm To Table Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Asheville Farm To Table Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing