We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ribs in Asheville - Hands Dowm”

12 Bones Smokehouse
Ranked #32 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in Asheville - Hands Dowm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Ask Obama. The funky vibe of the original location under the bridge in the River Arts District is still my favorite. I will never understand why they do not open for dinner.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    927
    321
    118
    60
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly Pulled Pork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Had read the reviews and was anxious to try on our latest trip to Asheville. Went for lunch on a weekday and the parking lot was packed and the line to order was out the door. The pulled pork sandwiches were generous in size and amazingly moist and tasty. Barbeque sauce bar let us each choose our own to add. Green beans and cole slaw as sides were both great! The decor is definitely not fancy but great food!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Make no Bones about it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

12 Bones Smokehouse (two locations) serves BBQ and other southern specialties, all to die for. Brisket, ribs, pulled pork, are all excellent. The BLT is beyond excellent! Lunch: sandwich with two sides and a generous adult beverage will cost less than $10 per person. You may have to stand in line for 10 or so minutes; it is well worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nemo683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Blew my mind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I am not generally a fan of BBQ but this place is amazing! The potato salad is out of this world.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mntbikebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Come and Eat - but not nights or weekends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Much as I wanted to not like this "iPhone of BBQ Joints", it is pretty good - just not available for those who work any distance away during the day! Pretty good Ribs - overdone but great sauce - the Blueberry in my case. Chopped Beef and Pork sandwiches are first rate, as are the sides we tried: Cole Slaw, Potato Salad, and Cheese Grits. Nice staff, long lines, quirky eating area. If you must have Diet Coke or Pepsi, forget it - is RC here. As the line lengthens, the smartphones come out so the trendies can announce to all how great it is to be here. Blah, blah, blah...just order and eat, and put down the iPhone!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joecompute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 12 Bones Smokehouse also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to 12 Bones Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing