We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking -- even in the snow”
Review of Biltmore Estate

Biltmore Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Guided Stand-Up Paddleboard Tour in Asheville
Ranked #1 of 186 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: George Vanderbilt's historic country estate in Asheville, NC; Biltmore includes Biltmore House--America's largest home--plus gardens, winery, Antler Hill Village, historic farm, 4-star Inn on Biltmore Estate, shops, restaurants, branded products, and outdoor adventures. This National Historic Landmark is an amazing destination offering a wide range of activities for all ages.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breathtaking -- even in the snow”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Unfortunately, we visited on January 28, the snowiest, coldest day of the year for North Carolina. Thank goodness there was a shuttle that took us right to the front door. The tour is well organized and self-guided and easy to keep up with. Great signage throughout the estate. We were lucky that it was not crowded, although the cold weather did make for a cold tour. We grabbed a quick lunch at the on-site restaurant inside the former stables -- it was well prepared, good food and friendly service. We topped our visit with a trek to the wine bar and enjoyed some wine to warm our bones! Definitely plan to return when the grounds are in bloom -- it was breathtakingly beautiful in the snow and we can only imagine the beauty of the gardens and grounds in warmer weather.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MRL217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,335
    2,889
    788
    268
    153
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pricey, very disappointed”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everyone talks about going to see Biltmore at Christmas, so we did. It was very crowded, very expensive and overwall not that spectacular as advertised. I expected millions of lights and instead, the house is in complete darkness. We parked the car in the woods ( where they want you to park) and we started hiking towards the entrace on a rainy evening. We stepped in all water pools, being so dark and we didn't want to wait a few hours for the shuttle. The house itself is OK, but you are not allowed to take pictures and you have to move with the crowd. The other parts of the estate are a little joke, the " farm" has a few chickens and goats, the " village" has a few small expensive souvenir stores and fast food and one restaurant always booked and pricey. We chose to eat at another location inside the estate, where they offered a buffet for $17. What a joke that is! They say taste the southern food, all selections had herbs and spices that nobody uses in the south. So we didn't like the pumpkin soup or fish with sesame or baked turkey breast which was uncooked in the middle and with a weird sauce. So my son ate 4 buiscuits, which were hot from the oven, the only thing delicious. My husband and I left hungry.
The winery was all right, but we waited about 3 hours in line to taste some wine. We only liked one variety and even that, not something special.
I' m very glad we didn't buy Annual Pass, as I don' see why would I go back there ever again. Very pricey, not justified.
So be prepared if you still want to go, it might not be what you expect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Delia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tip for Savings on Ticket Price”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We loved the Biltmore. Our second visit. Definitely worth the time and money to see something so unbelievable and interesting. My tip is to buy the tix from the AAA in Asheville. The regular price is $59 for adults. You can get them for $49 by buying them online in advance or thru your local AAA. However, the price thru the local AAA was less than $43 a ticket, a nice savings. The only issue I had was the local AAA told us the house opened at 8:30am and the tour started at 9am. Based upon this advice, we arrived at 8:20am and were told there is no access thru the gate until 9am and the house didn't open until 9:30am. We actually used the time well to drive around some of the nice residential areas near the Biltmore but I would suggest calling the Biltmore directly for hours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalobob65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must See”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Take you walking shoes because its big and grand. You can't take pictures but you will not forget all the grand things you will see on this visit. The grounds are worth the drive around as well. I love that they have a shuttle service to get you right to the door of the Estate as well as the Inn, shops and winery.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sissy7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
288 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“American royalty”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Biltmore estate is about as close as you will get to American royalty. The visit to the house is amazing, even though you only tour a fraction of the entire house. The view from the windows of the house are breathtaking. We visited during Jan. when crowds are much smaller. (Three years ago we did the candlelight Christmas tour and the crowd was huge!) Getting the audio tour helps the house come alive. Just amazing to see how the wealthy lived in the late 1800's and early 1900's. In a basement room there is an exhibit showing the building of the mansion. Houses are not built that way anymore.
I will say that it takes about 1- 1 1/2 hours to walk through thew house on the audio tour. Children under the age of 12 seem to be bored after about 30 minutes.
The Estate also has gardens, a winery, several restaurants, some shops, an inn and plenty of walking trails. It doesn't hurt that the Biltmore is located in Asheville that also offers great restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway, funky shops and plenty of natural beauty.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bumpkin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biltmore Estate also viewed

North Carolina Mountains, NC
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Biltmore Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing