We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Biltmore tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Asheville
from $19.99
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
from $300.00
More Info
Reviews (21,048)
Filter reviews
20,928 results
Traveler rating
15,825
3,564
993
343
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15,825
3,564
993
343
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour downton abbey beautiful estate bowling alley antler village rooftop tour upstairs downstairs tour house tour vanderbilt family wine tasting valet parking christmas decorations behind the scenes own pace the main house bucket list christmas season
Filter
Updating list...
15,846 - 15,851 of 20,928 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I looked at this through an architect's eyes. The estate and the mansion are nothing short of incredible. The landscape design was by Fredric Law Olmstad, the same landscape architect that designed Central Park. Everything is amazing, an excellent example of what can be accomplished with too much money. Sure, he may have been a "robber baron", but without acquiring the kind of wealth he did, this kind of enduring cultural icon never comes into existence. Granted, the entrance fee is not insignificant, but this is the kind of thing you have to see if you are there.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Totally worth it! I went here with 10 other girls for a bachelorette weekend and we loved the self-guided tour through the estate. I would recommend the audio guide as well as booking your tickets in advance.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank ChelseaFossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have visited the Biltmore in its summer finery, but this was our first trip to see the Christmas decorations. We thoroughly enjoyed the Butler's Tour, seeing the inner workings of the mansion in some detail. CAUTION: This tour covers several levels and many stairs. The Candlelight Tour showcased the decorations and offered live choral music at the entrance, but the brochure isn't coded to the location numbers used for the audio tour, so I suggest taking the full daytime tour of the mansion with audio guide before doing the one at night.

Date of experience: December 2013
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The estate is Lways interesting to visit. With your ticket you can visit the house, gardens, greenhouses, winery and shops. In the spring and summer the gardens are beautiful, and in the fall the colors in Biltmore Forest are spectacular. But Christmas is my favorite time at Biltmore, as it is decorated beautifully. Each room you visit has at least ome Christmas tree (except for the servants's bedrooms and some of the work areas), and each room is decked out for the holidays.

Although the audio tour is extra, it is well worth it, as it gives so much more information. Except for the basement, there isn't much signage, so you miss a lot unless you are on a tour listening to the audio tour. The audio tour is very well done, with several speakers, interesting stories and facts, and not at all dry. I noticed several couples who shared an audio tour and seemed to be having no trouble sharing.

There are several restaurants, an ice cream parlor (which serves hot cider, cocoa and coffee in cold weather), a bakery and sandwich shoppe, so you can eat on the estate if you like. We ate the Stable Cafe, which was a little pricey. There are a couple of sandwiches, salads, soup, and a few southern- style entrees. Servings were not overly generous. On a different visit we ate at the Bistro, which was more expensive, but the selections were better and the servings more generous.

There are a number of gift shops and a winery. At the winery you can take a tour, and there are free tastings where you can taste up to 22 offerings. Generally I am not a fan of the Biltmore wines, but the Sauvignon blanc was good and the Malbec excellent. There is also a wine bar where you can taste premium wines for a small fee or simply order a glass or bottle. All of the wines are for sale by the bottle.

The tour during Christmas can take about two hours. At this time of year the gardens aren't blooming, but the greenhouse is definitely worth a visit. Combine those with a meal, some shopping, and a wine tasting and perhaps winery tour, and you have a lovely day in Asheville.

Date of experience: December 2013
4  Thank Lorowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I do not see the attraction of paying a lot of money to see how rich people lived. Local Asheville residents see the Biltmore House as a tourist attraction only and not part of their community.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank 330TS330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews