We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting attraction and a pretty good value !”
Review of Biltmore Estate

Biltmore Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Guided Stand-Up Paddleboard Tour in Asheville
Ranked #1 of 188 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: George Vanderbilt's historic country estate in Asheville, NC; Biltmore includes Biltmore House--America's largest home--plus gardens, winery, Antler Hill Village, historic farm, 4-star Inn on Biltmore Estate, shops, restaurants, branded products, and outdoor adventures. This National Historic Landmark is an amazing destination offering a wide range of activities for all ages.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting attraction and a pretty good value !”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Although we travel extensively, we often avoid the tradional tourist attractions. However since we were in the area, we decided to give it go. At this time of the year, tickets are $39 per person. You can purchase them online ( which I would suggest you do) and print them off your home printer. You can also get discounts by booking 7 days in advance. You need to have your tickets with you to get in the main gate and enter the house. When arriving the first impression is the largeness of the property. You drive miles to get to the different areas. We arrived before 10AM and parked in the closest parking lot. You can take a shuttle. We did the 5 min walk to the house. You are given an audio device, a short instruction and set off to go at your own pace. Even early in the day and off season there is still a fair number of people. The house tour took about 90 minutes and I thought was well done. It gave some information about each room but not excessive. It was interesting to see how people lived, played and worked in the past. After the tour you can wander the gardens. At this time of year, there is not much in the gardens, but it is a nice walk with beautiful scenery. We then drove over to the winery and had lunch at the Bistro. Nice place with good food. We were impressed. Be sure to visit the winery and tast some wines for free. We did buy a bottle of the Pino Grigio that was pretty good. Overall we spent over 4 hours there, which is not bad value. If you are in the area, definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,592
    2,929
    804
    273
    154
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plan for a full day!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We made the trip to Biltmore in March before all the crowds picked up at spring break. The tour of the home was very interesting! We were able to receive the audio tour for free, but I would recommend purchasing it because there are so many little details that were so fun to learn! The grounds are spectacular and expansive! Plan for a full day to enjoy the entire experience. You can come and go as you please with your daily pass so you don't have to spend big $$ for lunch on the site if you would prefer not to. Spend some time enjoying the drive through the entire estate and get out and walk the trails. Such a beautiful place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank APax04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
259 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Allow a day and a must visit”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic estate and house, as one of the previous review writer has said we also did not allow enough time,again we spent a good couple of hours walking around the house with a very good guide book and a complimentary audio guide speaker which is probably one of the best we have used, we were also talking to one of the guides Garrett Lasoda (hope the spelling is correct) He was extremely knowledgeable and very helpful.
If the management at Biltmore are reading this thank you for a job well done and especially to Garrett, I have only one observation to make and that is to make the visitors computer book in the basement area, to allow British post codes so we can sign in.

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful, regal home: worth the visit”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The only problem with our trip to the Biltmore house was that we didn't allow for enough time to visit everything. We spent hours in the house, but didn't get to enjoy the farm, gardens, or restaurants. I could have easily spent one very full day or 2 relaxed days at the Biltmore house. The gift shops were typical gift shops, but they did have some interesting things to offer, including various wine options.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgtg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

When visiting the estate, you can't enter the gate until 9 AM. Then you drive a distance to the ticket house. Then you drive 2 miles through some pretty forest areas to the parking lots. A shuttle takes you to the house. Seeing the estate as you round the corner is an amazing feeling. The pictures don't do it justice. The mansion doesn't open up to visitors till 9:30AM. Since we visited off season we got the audio tour included in the price of admission. The audio guides gave a much richer experience with so much more history than is offered in the booklet given. I highly recommend purchasing the audio guide if you travel during peak season. The number of visitors was significantly greater comparing during the week and on a Friday, though it was still enjoyable. The gardens are so much fun to explore. Be prepared to walk, a lot. There aren't many places to sit. I imagine the gardens are stunning when in full bloom. Photos can't be taken inside the mansion but bring your camera for outside shots and garden discoveries.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank advsmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biltmore Estate also viewed

North Carolina Mountains, NC
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Biltmore Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing