We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Spendor at Biltmore”
Review of Biltmore Estate

Biltmore Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$375.00*
and up
Biltmore Estate Tour with Transportation from Charlotte
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Guided Stand-Up Paddleboard Tour in Asheville
Ranked #1 of 192 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: George Vanderbilt's historic country estate in Asheville, NC; Biltmore includes Biltmore House--America's largest home--plus gardens, winery, Antler Hill Village, historic farm, 4-star Inn on Biltmore Estate, shops, restaurants, branded products, and outdoor adventures. This National Historic Landmark is an amazing destination offering a wide range of activities for all ages.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Autumn Spendor at Biltmore”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had my first trip to Biltmore in early October, 2012. Booked on-line in advance for tour time. Was impressed by the ease in which they were able to guide large groups through the estate at the height of the fall season. The customer service, courtesy, hospitality and knowledge of every staff member we encountered was exceptional. From the parking attendants to those working in the gift shop - all were friendly and courteous. Will be returing another visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,000
    3,034
    819
    284
    156
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Wow!! An American Castle!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pictures do not do this amazing place justice. The grounds, the gardens, the house all so cool! You could easily spend 2 days here: one in the house and the other on the outside. Just breathtaking!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chi-transplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Biltmore House”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister and I do a sisters' trip each year, and this year it was to the Biltmore estate. We took the self-guided tour through the house (with headset) then toured the gardens. The house was magnificent! You will do a lot of walking so make sure you have comfortable shoes. The gardens were also beautiful and we did a lot more walking around the grounds. There was a creamery there and we enjoyed a delicious ice cream cone. We took the Shuttle to Antler Hill on the estate grounds, went for an hour bike ride, wine tasting, toured the museum, and had dinner at Cedric's. This was a full day!! The following day, we went horseback riding on the estate grounds. Fun vacation!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pwills528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely TOP !”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The visit to this house was for us by far the most beautiful we visited in the United States.
Before this, we thought that Hearst Castle in California was the number one.
It isn't cheap but worthwhile your money. Be prepared to spend a whole day for this MUST SEE attraction.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank reyntens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shandon, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bigger and grander than Hearst Castle, with a warm family history in addition.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The family history of this magnificant home of the Vanderbilts is most interesting. When the family lived there, they had 4 Great Danes wandering throughout the home and estate. They were a part of the family. They were so giving to their 30+servants,\ that they gave a Christmas Party every year for them. The Vanderbilt's only child was named Cornelius. This mansion was so huge it seemed to go on and on, even with parts of it closed off to the public. They showed the kitchen, the laundry, the fruit and vegetable storage room, i.e., everything that is "normal" and of interest to an average person looking at a wealthy family's lifestyle. This estate, with the gardens and views included, is something not to miss. Everything is included in one price, unlike other mansion tours. One price - you see it all. The tours are self-guided, wearing earphones that describe each area as you walk through the home, so you can meander if you want, and not be pushed along like a herd of cattle.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank 4tomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biltmore Estate also viewed

North Carolina Mountains, NC
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Biltmore Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing