We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thursday Bluegrass Music”
Review of Jack of the Wood

Jack of the Wood
Ranked #6 of 44 Nightlife in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Asheville NC's best social gathering spot! Featuring great Irish food items such as bangers and mash, Irish stew, fish and chips along with 18 rotating taps and one cask tap. We feature a large selection of local brews and have a full liquor bar.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thursday Bluegrass Music”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are in Asheville on a Thursday, there is no easier way to see some good bluegrass music. The house band is on until 9 and then it is open mic from there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park City
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some of the best Irish Food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went with low expectations for lunch but the food ended up being exceptional for an Irish Pub in Asheville. The fried pickles were amazing. The BLT was the best I have ever had. The lamb burger was a little too minty. Ambience was good despite the "oldies" music.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very laid back”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were walking down town and decided to go to Jack of the Wood for diner. Sat at the bar and ordered drinks. On the bartenders suggestion we had the bison notchos and they were great. Should have stopped with that because three of us ate them and I was full. But I did not stop there I had the fish and chips and they were also not a disappointment. They did have live local entertainment that started 40 minutes late. I would say we would all go back but just not have so much to eat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Messed up organization!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived around 6:30 for dinner. They don't do reservations. We were told we could grab a table when one opened. Maybe three other couples looked to be there before us. No one took names to put us in order. Seven groups were waiting after 30 minutes. No wait services for drinks ever approached in a standing tavern atmosphere. One couple walked in and went right to the back and we're lucky to take over a table of others just finished. We like at least three other groups got frustrated and walked out. Too bad, the menu looked interesting. Bad management, but no employee seemed to care. One table was apologized to by their server for lack of attention, they had no service the entire time we observed. There are many other great places to go within a short walk.

Helpful?
Thank RDT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
172 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The elusive Scotch Egg!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Its hard to find a scotch egg on a menu in America and even harder to find a good scotch egg on a menu in America. Jack of the Wood had both! Tasty little meal in a neat, comfortable environment.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wccope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack of the Wood also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jack of the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing