We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Asheville
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Okeechobee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent 2 night stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here while in Asheville for a wedding. No complaints whatsoever. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional and the room was clean and quiet. The "Bistro" cafe is convenient and has a good variety of quick, great tasting food. Also, there's a Carraba's restaurant right in front for real convenience. Once out of the driveway, it's not the nicest part of Asheville - kind of run-down old hotels and fast food, but only a one mile drive over the hill and you're in the really nice downtown. Finally, if you're a runner, I recommend staying on the machine. There's limited and poor quality sidewalk to run on and lots of turn-ins for cars. All in all, we'd surely stay there again on another visit to Asheville.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the elevators and ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review of the hotel and staff! We are really glad that you enjoyed yourself at the Courtyard while you were in town for a wedding.We look forward to providing you overnight accommodations on your future visit to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    95
    56
    21
    4
See reviews for
63
96
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here overnight while driving through North Carolina. Our plan was to stop, let the kids swim and get some rest for the night. As a Marriott Rewards member we choose to stay at this location since Marriott had it listed as a Category 4 hotel and used our points for a free night. Check in was easy and the lobby was nice and looked newly redecorated. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the staff advised a rewards upgrade was not available due to their suites only having 1 king bed. Our room was mediocre. My first disappointment was when I realized that this Courtyard does not have rooms with 2 Queen beds but instead only doubles. The room was standard and in fair shape. It appears they've tried to upgrade the room by adding some new paint and pictures to the walls but the rooms seemed very old & outdated. An example of this would be the air/heat unit - this was an older unit where there is no thermostat to control the temp but instead a fan, heat & air switch on the unit. The beds were very uncomfortable and just an old room. We used the pool which was on the small side but the kids enjoyed it. After being in the car all day I was really looking forward to relaxing in the hot tub. To my surprise the water in the hot tub was bright green & there was no sign anywhere indicating it was out of order - very disturbing however before we left the next morning a sign was eventually posted stating the spa was closed for repairs. We also found an old used snck wrapper that was on the floor in our room. Not sure how this was missed by housekeeping but makes me wonder what else they missed? All in all, other than the remodeled lobby the hotel was not up to par for a Courtyard by Marriott and my husband & I were very disappointed that we wasted 20,000 pts at this hotel. Marriott should be aware that this is NOT a category 4 hotel and definately not worth 20,000 rewards pts but more like 7,500.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Family_VayCays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback concerning your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel up to your standards. Please accept my apology if there was any misunderstanding when you made your reservation about what type of beds we offer. Our website clearly states double beds or king-size beds. We also state the same when calling the hotel direct. I hope that Marriott is providing the same information whenever you call the toll-free number to make reservations. Our rooms were renovated 3 years ago that included all new furniture, carpeting wall coverings as well as mattresses. I am sorry that you found the beds uncomfortable. The mattresses are approved by Marriott and are Serta Perfect Sleeper in their Corporate Suite line. This same decor package is still being installed in Courtyards today. With regards to the hot tub and the green appearance, that was coming from a cast from the walls. We took the hot tub down the morning of your departure, as we had it scheduled to be completely overhauled with a new finish and tile to the walls and floor. It is back up in operation 3 days later. I have spoken to the Executive Housekeeper about the used snack wrapper you found in your room. All of our rooms are inspected after they are cleaned prior to a new guest checking in. The inspector that day obviously did not do a thorough job inspecting that room. I apologize for their carelessness in that regard. Regarding the catagory rating from Marriott, there are many factors that go into that rating, including the amount of Reward redemptions at each hotel. Our hotel is a "high-redemption" hotel which causes the catagory to be higher than you might expect. We appreciate you being a Rewards member and look forward to your continued use of Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel is located away from any road noise and the first two nights the peace was wonderful, unfortunately on the third night the people in the neighboring room were partying and woke us several times. I finally called down to the front desk, they obviously went to the room and requested they quietened down. They called me after a few minutes to ask if the noise was gone, which it was. Unfortunately the noise started again after a couple of hours, I was too tired to call the front desk again! The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel as a whole was very clean and nicely presented. My children used the swimming pool which was small but adequate, there's a hot tub too. The hotel is not downtown but close enough, there is a bistro in the hotel but we seemed to keep missing breakfast, even on the weekends breakfast was over by 10:00am, we missed it by minutes! There is a Carrabas next door and an IHOP and Waffle House within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Asheville. I appreciate your kind remarks about the hotel. Please accept my apology for the noise you encountered from the room next door. It is nice to know that when you notified the front desk, the desk clerk responded. Had you notified us again, we could have taken more stringent measures to get these other guests to discontinue with their noise disturbance. I am sorry you were too late to enjoy our Bistro. As all the food is prepared to order, I suspect you would have enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while on vacation in Asheville. While I wished it was downtown, it was still convenient to the downtown area, and only a 10 minute drive into downtown via Tunnel Road. Did not eat at hotel Bistro but several restaurants close by (there is a Carrabas in the same parking area as hotel, but did not eat there). As a foodie, I ate in the Downtown area, except for breakfast one day at nearby IHOP. Room was fine...some noise from above, but not bad. Only complaint was not enough shampoo for 2 people, and no lotion. Towels were thin, but I heard they are upgrading towels. I am loyal to Marriott, and this is a typical Courtyard property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1966_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard while you were visiting Asheville. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Had you inquired we would always provide additional shampoo, and lotion as well. We have received our first case of new, heavier towels. When we are all done, our towels will be the same as you would find in a full-service Marriott. We look forward to your return whenever you are in Asheville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The good: friendly staff. Typical rooms. Clean. Nice bistro for a relaxing small meal.

The bad: walls in the rooms are paper thin. You can easily hear conversations in neighboring rooms, noise from the halls etc. Towels are thin and minimal. Overall quality of the building is like a cheap budget motel.

Look elsewhere if you want a quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Asheville. I appreciate the kind words about our staff and the atmosphere about the Bistro. Our current towels, as specified by Marriott are being upgraded to the same towels that you will find in a full service Marriott hotel. These are larger and of a heavier weight. I am sorry that you encountered noise issues while you were here. During our next renovation I hope to address this and to make our rooms more sound proof. Thanks again for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott during your visit to Asheville. It would be our priviledge to provide you with your overnight accommodations the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

the staff is very friendly and speak to you every time coming and going, it is located very close to downtown. rooms were clean and plenty of onsite parking. it is located away from traffic noise and recommended for a quite night sleep

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billreedred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and especially the staff. It is always nice to get positive feedback from satisfied guests that we are doing what we should be doing! We appreciate you staying with us while in Asheville and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, pleasant and professional. The room was clean and the hotel seemed to be well maintained. I personally did not care for the mattress, it was hard and the pillows were too flat. While we appreciated the professional service and cleanliness of the hotel, we did not rest well.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cMac_OnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your kind words about the hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the mattress or pillows. We are in the process of replacing all of our pillows. Had you let us know that you wanted different pillows, we could have provided them to you. The hardness of the mattress certainly is a personal choice. Whenever we replace them, I will be looking into a "softer" mattress than what we currently have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#40 of 66 in Asheville
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Asheville Biltmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Resort Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Asheville

Property: Courtyard Asheville
Address: 1 Buckstone Pl, Asheville, NC 28805-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Asheville 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Asheville Hotel Asheville
Asheville Courtyard
Asheville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing