We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resurrected from the ashes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Previous reviews of this hotel were enough to make me fear what I had gotten into after purchasing the room on Priceline's "name your own price" service. But, I gave them a chance and they did not disappoint. The staff was exceptionally friendly, first of all, and obviously took pride in their work. Having been completely renovated in 2008, I suspect any personnel that were not completely customer service oriented were let go. As for the facility, EVERYTHING was new--and tasteful. Is is a 5-star resort? No. But you don't worry about cleanliness or the functionality of anything. Besides, in-room fridge and coffee maker are enough for people that don't require turn down service. As for the beds, they were the best I'd ever slept on in a hotel. Not to mention the "firm" and "soft" pillows were a nice touch.

All in all, I'd say that the rebirth of this hotel has made it a great value and opportunity for visitors to Asheville--especially if you're there to see the Biltmore Estate. Downtown is only a couple miles up the road and you have immediate access to I-40. This is certainly the place I will stay next time I visit Asheville.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 499 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2009

After some of the bad reviews, I was a little concerned. The hotel was excellent. The bathroom was extremely clean. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatraveler075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Convenient, clean, and quiet. We came to Asheville without reservations to see a concert at the Orange Peel and afterwards drove south on highway 25 looking for motels. Since I belong to the Priority Club, we stopped here first and were cordially welcomed. The evening clerk took a map and showed us exactly where to get on the Blue Ridge Parkway to avoid a rockslide near Mt. Mitchell. He recommended different exits for 1/2-hour, 2-hour, or 3-hour Parkway trips. This information turned out to be extremely helpful. The morning clerk gave us tips about visiting the Biltmore Estate.

The room had plenty of towels, comfortable beds and chairs, a hair dryer, iron and ironing board; and the evening clerk gave my teenage son a toothbrush and toothpaste. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Irene36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I would not stay at this hotel again. (I actually booked it by mistake thinking I was booking the Holiday Inn near the mall.) The lobby was very untidy - boxes stacked against the wall in several places, sticky notes covering a door - and the desk clerk was similarly untidy and quite surly. He barely spoke except to ask for our credit card and tell us where to sign. The parking lost - which is tiny - was littered as were the steps to our room. The room was small and dark with scarred furniture (veneer gone completely in some spots), and the towels were threadbare. A note written on hotel stationary about safety actually stuck to the table when I picked it up and was very crumpled and stained. However, the bathroom was clean and the bed - although the sheets were very wrinkled - also appeared to be clean.

Had we not been hurrying to get to a dinner engagement we would have gone to another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ClaudiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

This was my second stay at this Express. It is not the typical Holiday Inn Express. This is an older property, so it does not have all of the extras that most have, like an exercise room or spa (how often do you really use them). The rooms all have exterior doors, so you most likely will have several flights of steps to climb. It also can make for a cold walk down to breakfast in the morning.

My room was clean and comfortable. There is road noise, but just turn on the fan in the ac/heat unit to block that out. I never heard any noise from the other rooms, and it was nearly full every night I was here. The toilet/tub cubicle is small, and the exhaust fan does not work well, but I have been in many hotels that have that problem. Otherwise the room was good size. The breakfast was the usual items, well cared for and kept full. The breakfast area was also clean.

Overall this is a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Staying at this Holiday Inn was tiring. After a long day of sight-seeing, we were ready to crash. The parking situation at this hotel is extremely inconvenient. Because of the shape of the property, there are not enough parking spots close to the room entrances. We had to lug all our belongings more than .1 mile to our room. We couldn't drop off our luggage in front of the room, then find parking because there were too many people circling, trying to find a parking spot, and there wasn't enough room for them to go around us. Elderly or disabled guests, or parents trying to keep track of children, would find this situation challenging.

There were no extra outlets in the room and the internet cord did not reach the desk area. The air-conditioner was difficult to control. Otherwise, the room was clean, the breakfast fare was the usual nice selections, the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank harmonyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

No little fridges available. Tiny parking lot. Tiny bathroom. No closet. Had to park in next door restaurant's lot. Damp, damp, damp. Did I mention it was damp? The sheets were damp; the towels were damp; the carpet was damp and after one night, our clothes were damp too. The maid had left the shower head pointed out of the shower, so when I stupidly neglected to check it's position before I turned it on, it sprayed me and the toilet and floor with more DAMPNESS. Very inferior. In my opinion, should not be allowed to call itself Holiday Inn Express as all the others I have stayed in (except Seattle) have been superior. Good location, but my stay left me grumpy.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Denga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Asheville/biltmore
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville Biltmore Village
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 66 in Asheville
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Biltmore Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Biltmore Village

Address: 234 Hendersonville Rd, Asheville, NC 28803-2745 (Formerly GuestHouse International Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $88 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Biltmore Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Biltmore Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing