We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2014

Exceptionally comfortable, large room with all the comforts, great breakfast, quite, and at a great price.

Only problem was the wifi did not work and no one at the front desk in the evening could solve the problem. But the morning crew knew exactly what was wrong when we touched base with them prior to checking out.

Room Tip: Not sure because their supposed wifi did not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for staying at our property. I am so sorry the WiFi didn't work well that evening. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay at our hotel and in the Asheville area. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights Labor Day weekend 2014. Great stay! Staff were great, price included breakfast, Wi-Fi (tho I never tried it) and parking. Very good location. The pool was great and clean, my kids enjoyed it. No issues at all!

Room Tip: Goes with all hotels, but stay away from the rooms next to stairwells. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for the great comments. I am glad your family enjoyed themselves here. We have a great pool with 3 water features & a large gazebo with tables & chairs. We hope you come back soon and thank you for choosing our property! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our family had 3 multi-day stays at the HI Express at Biltmore square while my father was a patient at Mission Hospital near Biltmore. Our experience with the property was consistent with the HI Express brand, comfortable and clean accommodations, decent variety for breakfast, and a quiet and secure property. The location was surprisingly convenient, with a short drive to and from Mission hospital due to the convenience to I-26 and I-40.

However, our experience with the staff greatly exceeded my expectations. As our plans changed, the front desk associate, David, not only managed adjustments to our reservations to extend through the busy July 4 weekend, but also showed personal care for our situation. Several weeks later, we had to return to Asheville unexpectedly. Online reservations showed the hotel was booked, but we stopped by just to see. David, who was working again, was able to juggle some room assignments around to get my mother and sister into an upgraded suite so they could help care for my father. And again, he showed personal care for our situation through the entire conversation. I honestly think our experience with David this summer is the best customer service I have ever received. Thanks for your hospitality in trying times!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors, front of the hotel have a mountain view. Rooms at the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for your great comments about our staff. David is a wonderful person and we are glad to have him at our property. It was a pleasure being able to accommodate you and your family. We are glad your father is recovering nicely. Thank you again for staying with us. Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We traveled to Ashville from California with friends to visit the Biltmore Estate and visit the greater Ashville area for the first time in our lives. A great hotel for an anchor for accessibility to all that we wanted to do, including the Estate, Ashville itself, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Hot Springs and more. Great hotel, comfortable, good breakfast options. The staff was amazingly helpful with tips for eating, things to do, places to visit. We would absolutely stay here the next time we come to the area!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

It sounds like you had a terrific time in the Asheville area. I am so glad you enjoyed staying at our hotel and thank you for the compliment about returning here. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed an inexpensive place to stay overnight in Asheville, and this Holiday Inn Express met expectations. The other reviews were accurate - hotel was convenient to downtown, well-kept, very clean, and quiet (despite appearing to be quite full that night). Breakfast had a good selection of sausage, eggs, pancakes, bagels, fruit, and cereals. Pool looked nice but we did not take advantage of it. All we could ask of a hotel in that price range.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank MrsTrailBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

We have a wonderful staff at our hotel. They keep everything very clean and well maintained. Our location is very convenient to most attractions and near 2 major interstates. Thank you for staying at our property and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The price was high but Asheville was mostly booked up. The location wasnt awesome (nothing right nearby) but still close enough to many things. The staff at check in wasn't unpleasant but rather indifferent. He told my husband the wrong way to turn to get into yhe parking lot. Hope you dont have a problem walking or a lot of baggage because the parking lot offers very few spaces close to the door. The parking lot is much longer than it is wide but it is the smaller side that is actually right next to the building. The rooms were clean but unimpressive and a tad small for the price (particularly my husband's main complaint). It was however a comfortable sleep. The bed was really comfortable for both my husband and I who have bad backs and never agree on a matress. He wanted to know what brand it was he was so amazed. The room stayed dark and quiet too. However, the A/C was ridiculous and disturbed my sleep throughout the night. Not the fan noise which is always noisy or a constant sound you can get used to but a unnerving screeching sound each time the compressor kicked on so periodically it made you jump startled in your sleep. I probably would choose another hotel personally.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our staff does a great job keeping our hotel clean and well maintained. We just had a major renovation last winter and replaced all of the bedding. I am glad you enjoyed it! Our foot print is rather long but we have 2 entrances & the 2 elevators are in the middle. Thank you again for staying with us! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a standard Holiday Inn that provided a good night sleep on our travels through the area. The hotel is not close to the downtown area or Biltmore Mansion so be prepared to drive 10-15 minutes to and fro. I am not a fan of the buffet breakfast but it was the typical fare of cereal, eggs, sausage and waffles.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twickski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I hope you had a great time at the Biltmore Estate. Asheville has so much to offer, we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), NC
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $90 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing